The target audience for scholarly communication is other researchers, professional colleagues, and students who have content knowledge in the same field. This contrasts with popular articles that are aimed at a wider, more general audience.
Research articles directly report the original findings of the author’s own research or experimentation.
The organization, professional society, or institution with which the author is affiliated will be listed to establish their credentials.
The language of scholarly communication is formal, generally does not use the first person, and often includes jargon specific to the field.
Using Journal Articles for Research
Academic journal articles are often authored by scholars and/or professionals active in a particular field
Academic journal articles can be primary or secondary sources, depending on their purpose
Scholarly articles provide a close look at a very specific topic, using data to support research findings
Journal articles can lead you to other relevant sources through their bibliographies
This video from NC State University Libraries provides an excellent step-by-step explanation of what you will find in a scholarly research article.
How to Read (& Comprehend) Scientific Research Articles
What is a Research Database?
Research databases are specialized online tools used to search for information on your topic. Databases store and organize information on all the articles published in its collection of journals, magazines, and newspapers.
Use a database to search for articles by keyword across multiple journals at the same time.
McKillop Library provides access to those articles via a subscription service - in fact, McKillop Library subscribes to more than 140 different databases to support student research at Salve Regina University.
Most, but not all of the articles indexed in a database are available to read "full-text". This means the entire text of the article is available to view, as long as you are logged in through the library portal.
Articles that are not available full-text may be requested via our interlibrary loan service.
Use the "Find Full Text" Tool in McKillop Library Databases
This tutorial will show you how to access full text from McKillop Library when a direct link from an article database is not offered.