What is Digital Scholarship?
Digital scholarship is an interdisciplinary field that integrates emerging technologies with scholarly methods. Examples include open publishing, community-engaged research, text analysis, data mining, visualization, modeling and simulation, geospatial analysis and mapping, multi-modal storytelling, network analysis, and mark-up.
At Salve among the examples you will see below, you'll find faculty and student submissions of papers to Salve Regina University's Digital Commons, citizen science and student research projects such as Salve Regina's Sentinel Trees, curated and described natural collections such as the Nature Cabinet; and exhibits that highlight Salve Regina University's research, history, and art.
If you are interested in highlighting your own or your students' work through McKillop Library's digital scholarship platforms and services, please contact one of the librarians listed on this page. You can also request a new collection for your students' work, or, if you want them to submit to an existing collection, direct them to the submission link..
Salve Regina University Digital Exhibits
Monumenta 50th Anniversary: Exhibit
In 1974, Monumenta, a group of Princeton art history scholars and Middletown and Newport community members, organized a public sculpture exhibition throughout the city of Newport. The organizers named the exhibition Sculpture in Environment, but it was commonly referred to as Monumenta. Designed to extend the Newport summer tourist season, the exhibition ran from August 17 to October 13, 1974. The broad exhibit featured 53 monumental sculptures and earthworks created by artists around the world, drawing criticism and praise from local critics and renowned publications alike. Though poorly received by a public audience not interested in Modern art, Monumenta created a rare opportunity to see a large, comprehensive, international sculpture show with a variety of prestigious 20th century sculptors completely free of charge.
Salve Regina Student Research Findings on Offshore Wind Energy in Rhode Island
The students of Salve Regina University's Environmental Justice 334 spent the Spring 2024 semester researching the controversies surrounding the development of windfarms off the coast of Rhode Island. Students first researched issues covered in local news sources and identified five major themes: employment, tourism, energy, legal issues, and wildlife. Each group then identified claims made by different factions in their theme and investigated the claims' relative validity. See summaries below and click to read their final reports. (Photo credit: Dennis Schroeder, National Renewable Energy Lab)
Salve Regina Digital Exhibits: Muse and Mercy: Exploring Fine and Decorative Arts at Salve Regina
This exhibit highlights entries in Muse and Mercy, the definitive guide to Salve Regina University’s collections of fine and decorative arts. This book highlights 75 museum-quality works across a range of mediums, including painting, stained glass, sculpture, woodwork, metalwork, engraving, drawing, illustration, book arts, photography, ceramics, textiles, mosaics, graphic design, and landscape architecture. Of particular historical importance are the period rooms and works that decorate the Gilded Age mansions that comprise the University’s campus.
Salve Regina Digital Exhibits: Salve Regina Students Through the Decades
This exhibition walks visitors through Salve Regina University's history through the eyes of its thousands of students. Photographs, student handbooks, and other documentary evidence from the University Archives relate their experiences at a changing institution.
Exhibit curated and created in 2022, in honor of the university's 75th Anniversary by Grace Parenti '22; Genna Duplisea, University Archivist and Special Collections Librarian; and Dawn Emsellem, Director of Library Services; mounted online by Edward Iglesias, Systems and Technology Librarian, and Dawn Emsellem.
Digital Commons Exhibits: Research on Rose Island
The Rose Island Research Exhibit compiles research completed by students in partnership with The Rose Island Lighthouse Foundation and Fort Hamilton Trust and Salve Regina University faculty on the ecology, built environment, and K-12 learning potential of Rose Island, located in the East Passage of Narragansett Bay. The Rose Island project is part of the Narragansett Bay Interdisciplinary Research Project, which will continue to conduct research on the islands in Narragansett Bay.
Salve Regina University Research Exhibits and Collections
The Nature Cabinet is a natural history collection located on the campus of Salve Regina University in Newport, Rhode Island. Founded in 2018, it is curated by the students and faculty of the Department of Art and Art History. Students and faculty of the Department of Art and Art History collaborated with McKillop Library to photograph, describe, and create this searchable database of items from the Nature Cabinet.
This database of the Sentinel Trees of the Salve Regina University Arboretum includes photographs and reports created by Salve Regina University students as they complete environmental monitoring of Salve Regina University's Sentinel Trees.
The project is best summed up by its founder, Dr. Jameson Chace: "A sentinel tree is a witness tree. It bears witness to time beyond human years and the time we all spend on campus. It is a monitor of environmental and cultural change. While the world is moving around the tree, it bears witness. It stands still as a sentinel."
.
During the fall 2020 semester, undergraduate students were asked to submit photos describing their lives during the COVID-19 pandemic. This collection was mounted as the Art in the Age of the Pandemic collection in Omeka.
Collections of Salve Regina Research in Digital Commons
Salve Regina University’s Digital Commons collects, preserves, and shares the scholarly and creative work of the Salve Regina community and provides access to selected holdings of the University’s Archives and Special Collections.
From Digital Commons, you can see reports and research generated by fellows of the Pell Center for International Relations and Public Policy at Salve Regina University, dissertations and theses written by Salve undergrads and graduate students, student research in various class projects, student created accounts of species in Narragansett Bay, growing guides and propagation manuals from the hydroponic center, and many other examples of student work.
