Off-campus Access: Home

Online resources such as databases, ejournals, and ebooks are paid subscription resources that are only available to the faculty, staff, and currently-enrolled students of Salve Regina University. Alumni do not have off-campus access. To access these resources from off-campus, be sure to always start your search at the library webpage and use the resource links provided. The first time you click on a subscription online resource from the library's website or from within the library catalog, you will be prompted to authenticate using your Salve credentials through Microsoft authentication. When prompted, enter your Salve email address and your Salve password (same password as your Salve email) for access.

If you have issues connecting to library resources off-campus, please review these tips:

• Be sure to access library resources from the library website, particularly databases from the databases A-Z page. These links contain special information to authenticate you as a Salve user. Accessing a database link or journal article through a Google or web search will not allow access.
• Try using a different browser such as Firefox or Chrome, clearing your cookies and browsing history, or using an incognito/private browser window.
• Are you able to login to other Salve resources such as the portal at https://campus.salve.edu? If not, then you may have an issue with your Salve credentials, in which case you should contact the Technology Services Center at 401-341-7777 or tsc@salve.edu.
• If you are at work or another location other than home, your employer may have firewalls in place that are blocking your access to library resources.
• If your physical location is on another university's campus, then you will only be able to see that university's versions of databases.
• Your password cannot be longer than 36 characters and cannot include semicolons (;), colons (:), apostrophes ('), or periods (.)
• Some browser add-ons, security settings (such as iCloud Private Relay), or use of a VPN can cause problems with off-campus access.
• Access may be blocked from certain foreign countries. If you are located overseas, please contact the Technology Services Center at 401-341-7777 or tsc@salve.edu.
• Alumni, community borrowers, HELIN students, and Circle of Scholars cannot use our subscription resources from off-campus due to license restrictions. They can access databases on-site in the library. 

For further assistance, please contact 401-341-2289 or salvelibrarian@salve.edu. 

When using Google Scholar while off-campus, you can enable access to subscription-only articles available via Salve's e-resources:
 

Search Google Scholar

• click the hamburger menu (triple lines located on the top left corner),
• click "Settings"
• choose "Library links.
• Enter Salve Regina in the search box and check the box labeled Salve Regina University Library - Find @ Salve.
• Click "Save."

Please note that Google Scholar does not contain all the full-text articles that Salve subscribes to, so it is recommended to also use the library's research databases. To locate a specific ejournal, search by journal title in the journals list.

Here is an example of a search result in Google Scholar with a link to the article through the library's JSTOR database:

Need research assistance?
Click to Meet with a Librarian

Contact the library:
Call us at 401-341-2289
Email us at salvelibrarian@salve.edu
Chat with us from any library web page
Visit us at the information desk
Find us in the staff directory