Graduate Students' Guide to Library Services: Home

One-on-One Consultations: Librarians are happy to work closely with graduate students on their research or to give an overview of library resources and services in your discipline. We offer one-on-one consultations in person and by zoom. Make an appointment, call (401) 341-2289, or email your librarian liaison.

McKillop Library and HELIN books mailed to you:

If you live 40+ miles away and cannot make it to campus, we are happy to mail books to you.  Items eligible for shipment are those held by McKillop Library and our HELIN partner libraries.

To request mailing: 

• search for the material you need in our book catalog
• place a HOLD for the item and let us know in the notes field that you want the book mailed to you
• email ill@salve.edu to confirm receipt of your request and confirm your mailing address.  

Please note that HELIN items will take longer as we await their arrival to McKillop Library for mailing.

Mailing Terms and Conditions:
Interlibrary Loan items not owned by McKillop Library or HELIN are ineligible for mailing and must be picked up in-person at McKillop Library. 

Unfortunately, we cannot mail material outside of the USA unless you are stationed at a US Military base with an APO or FPO.  The borrower is responsible for all items from the time they leave McKillop Library to the time they are received back at McKillop Library. The borrower is responsible for return postage.  Postage to you is covered by McKillop Library but is deducted from your interlibrary loan allowance.  Allowances are based on a 6-month cycle of January-June, July-December and do not carry-over.  PhD Candidates: $100, Graduate and Undergraduate: $75.

Interlibrary loan:

Distance learners may only use interlibrary loan to request scans from books or journal articles.  Physical materials must be picked up in-person at McKillop Library.  Please visit our interlibrary loan page for additional information on policies and instructions.   

Scan and Deliver:

If you need one chapter from a book or a journal article from McKillop Library’s print collection, we can scan the material for you. Use the Interlibrary Loan Article/Chapter Request Form.  We cannot scan whole or large portions of items due to copyright; however, one chapter of a book or a journal article is acceptable.

From the library's homepage, click on the "Articles" tab. This searches the library's EBSCO databases. You can also click on some of our other major databases, such as JSTOR, Proquest, or ScienceDirect. 

From the library's homepage, click on the ebooks tab. This will search the library catalog for only ebooks. 

Citation Manuals & Resources

There are varying ways to cite sources. Usually, a short form of the citation is included within the text of the paper (referred to as in-text or parenthetical citations) and then the full citation is given on the last page of the paper, sometimes referred to as a "Works Cited" page, a "References," list or a "Bibliography."

Also, there are different styles to citing sources. The following styles are commonly used:

• APA (American Psychological Association) Format is generally used to cite sources within the social sciences.
• MLA (Modern Language Association) Format is generally used to cite sources within the humanities and liberal arts.

Guide to MLA Style from Purdue University Online Writing Lab (OWL) ;	Guide to APA Style from Purdue University Online Writing Lab (OWL) *Updated to 7th ed., Oct. 2019;
Guide to Chicago Style from Chicago Manual of Style	Guide to Turabian Style (9th Edition) from University of Pittsburgh University Library System

Print Citation Guides:

• MLA Handbook
  Library Reference Z253 .M634 2021
• Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association
  Library Reference Z253 .P83 2020
• Turabian Style Manual: A Manual for Writers of Term Papers, Theses, and Dissertations
  Library Reference Z253 .T8 2013
• The Chicago Manual of Style
  Library Reference Z253 .U69 2017

Citation Guides Online:

• MLA Formatting and Style Guide
• From OWL Purdue University Online Writing Lab
• APA Style and Grammar Guide
  From the American Psychological Association
• Chicago Manual of Style Online
• Guide to Turabian Style
• "Citing Information: Introduction"
  Self-paced instructional tutorials for various citation styles, as well as an introduction to citation. (From the Libraries of University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill)

Parts of a Citation

A citation is the information which identifies a resource, such as a book, DVD or article. Information for a book usually includes the author, title, publisher, city of publication, and date. The citation for an article usually includes the author, title of the article, title of the journal, volume, issue, pages, and date but the information included will mainly depend on which citation style is used (MLA, APA, etc.).

Need research assistance?
Click to Meet with a Librarian

Contact the library:
Call us at 401-341-2289
Email us at salvelibrarian@salve.edu
Chat with us from any library web page
Visit us at the information desk
Find us in the staff directory