Research Guides: Library Services for Faculty: Support for Teaching & Research

Course Reserves

McKillop Library supports your efforts to provide students with equitable access to required course materials via our Reserves service. Reserves items may be your personal print materials or library-owned resources, and follow current copyright and fair use guidelines.

Request Course Reserves Service
Use this form to request physical and electronic Course Reserves, and to request the purchase of streaming films for Course Reserves.
McKillop Library Streaming Film Policy
Please read this policy before requesting purchase of streaming films and media for your courses.
View Current List of Course Reserves

Information Literacy & Library Instruction

Library instruction workshops on research and information literacy skills are available for all Salve Regina University courses. Contact your library liaison to discuss the many options available for promoting information literacy in your courses.

Library Liaison by Academic Department
Contact your library liaison to discuss information literacy activities for your courses.
Request Library Instruction for Your Class
Please review and complete this form to request library instruction for your course.
Research & Instructional Services
Learn more about research and instructional services at McKillop Library.
Research Guides Research Guides are customized library webpages designed to support the research requirements of individual courses and programs. Guides are created through a collaboration between a faculty member and a librarian to highlight the library resources and services most useful for a certain class or assignment.

Library Purchase Requests

McKillop Library welcomes purchase suggestions for books, films, journals, electronic media, and other materials in fulfillment of its mission to support the curriculum.

Faculty Requests for Purchase of Library Materials

Research Assistance

Ask-a-Librarian
Here you'll find multiple options for contacting librarians for support: phone, text, email, and individual consultations.
Library Staff Directory
Search Books from other Library Systems Salve Regina is a member of HELIN, the Higher Education Library Information Network, which provides access to physical library collections from the Community College of Rhode Island, Johnson and Wales University(Providence branches), Providence College, Rhode Island College, Roger Williams University, and Wheaton College. Holdings of all these libraries are included in our online catalog. Use the link above to search additional regional library catalogs.
Digital Commons Digital Commons is a digital repository (also known as an institutional repository) that hosts and preserves scholarship created at Salve Regina University. It allows researchers worldwide to find and engage with the Salve community's work. Click the link to browse and view the growing collection of Salve scholars' research uploaded to the Digital Commons.

Faculty Scholarship

McKillop Library supports and promotes the scholarship and research of our campus community through its faculty lecture series and ongoing display of recent faculty publications. We also support special student research exhibitions from your semester courses.

Learn more about participating in Digital Scholarship at Salve Regina
Add your publications to Salve Regina's Digital Commons Digital Commons is a digital repository (also known as an institutional repository) that hosts and preserves scholarship created at Salve Regina University. It allows researchers worldwide to find and engage with the Salve community's work; it raises the profile of our scholars and creators as well as the profile of our institution. Click the link for info on submitting your work to the Digital Commons.
Learn more about faculty publication displays in the library View this virtual display of recent faculty publications that have been on display at McKillop Library, as well as an archived list of those from past displays. Faculty publication displays feature a brief faculty bio and an abstract and are updated biannually.
Submit a faculty scholarship display or presentation form
Participate in the annual May Faculty Development Workshops This page contains workshop ideas for 2024. The page will be updated as submitted proposals are reviewed and selected for this year.
Check out (and follow!) McKillop Library's YouTube Channel Check out and follow our YouTube channel, and browse playlists to view selected faculty lectures, as well as past presentations from the Mercy Critical Concern Faculty Collaborative sponsored by the McAuley Institute for Mercy Education.

Faculty can highlight student research through the library's digital scholarship program. If you would like to your students to submit their work to a new collection, please complete the collection form. Fill out as much information as possible and a librarian will get in touch to discuss options with you.

If you would like your students to submit their research to an existing collection, feel free to give them the submission link and direct them to choose the appropriate collection.

Feel free to contact Dawn Emsellem if you would like to discuss options for highlighting your students' research!

Special Topic Guides for Faculty

View the current list of Topic Guides for Faculty: Sample topics include Predatory Journals, Copyright, and Open Access/Open Educational Resources. If you have a suggestion for a special topic guide that would support faculty teaching or scholarship, contact the library!

Faculty Orientation Presentation 2024 (PDF)

Quick Links

Ask-A-Librarian

Need research assistance?
Click to Meet with a Librarian

Contact the library:
Call us at 401-341-2289
Email us at salvelibrarian@salve.edu
Chat with us from any library web page
Visit us at the information desk
Find us in the staff directory