Get help
What is the fastest way to reach a librarian?
CHAT with Us *
by using the chat widget embedded on the library's website.
Chat/Text & Information Desk Hours
Sun: 1 PM to 7 PM
Mon - Wed: 10 AM to 7 PM
Thu - Fri: 10 AM to 4 PM
EMAIL an individual librarian to book an appointment
Reach out to a librarian in your subject area or book with any of us! We will respond to you as quickly as possible.
TEXT Us *
at (401) 324-9LIB (401-324-9542)**
Check with your phone provider for limitations and fees.
EMAIL Us
at salvelibrarian@salve.edu
Visit our Help & FAQs for answers to the most-asked questions!
Ask-A-Librarian
Need research assistance?
Click to Meet with a Librarian
Contact the library:
Call us at 401-341-2289
Email us at salvelibrarian@salve.edu
Chat with us from any library web page
Text us at 401-324-9542
Visit us at the information desk
Find us in the staff directory
Message from Your Librarians
Throughout the pandemic, McKillop librarians and library staff continue to adapt our services to meet the needs of our Salve community. Please reach out if you have any questions that aren't answered below or need clarification. We're here for you!
Requesting & Returning Library Materials
- All Salve students, faculty, and staff can request print books and DVDs through the library's online catalog "request" buttons, visible when you click on the item's title. Items will be held at the Circulation desk; any requested items that are not picked up after 10 days will be returned to the library stacks, if a Salve-owned item, or routed back to the lending library, if it is a HELIN library item.
- Circulation Desk Pick-Up: Please enter the library through either entrance during operating hours (note: your Salve ID is required to enter, by swipe/tap, after 6:00 pm). If you do not have your Salve ID, library staff will let you in after verifying your identity.
- Borrowed items may be returned inside the library during operating hours and to the library's book drop near McKillop Library's front entrance, anytime.
- Faculty may request to order new library materials using this form.
Interlibrary Loan
- Patrons can visit this page to fill out a form to request electronic access to articles, book chapters, and book excerpts from other libraries.
Course Reserves
- In addition to our print Reserves collection, McKillop Library will continue to offer Electronic course reserves, including scanning and posting limited portions of Salve-owned print material, posting files provided by faculty, providing access to e-books and films available through library databases, and purchasing access to streaming films.
University Archives and Special Collections
-
The University Archives and Special Collections will offer reference services this semester. If you would like to interrogate the archives, request scans of materials, or arrange for archives instruction for your class, please e-mail genna.duplisea@salve.edu. You can also search our ArchivesSpace catalog, or browse our growing digital collections via the list at https://library.salve.edu/archives. For regular updates on what’s happening in the department, follow us at https://twitter.com/SalveArchives or https://facebook.com/SalveArchives.
Research and Instruction Support:
- Research support services are offered by McKillop librarians, both in the library and/or virtually, during the following hours:
- Monday-Thursday, 10:00 am - 7:00 pm
- Friday, 12:00 pm - 4:00 pm
- Sunday, 1:00 pm - 7:00 pm
- Information literacy instruction to support learning is available in the library or instructor classrooms. Faculty, please use our instruction request form to schedule a session, or contact your librarian directly.
- Research consultations with a librarian can be scheduled by emailing salvelibrarian@salve.edu.
If you have additional questions related to our changes in service, please visit our special FAQ pages, which are updated daily!