Archives and Special Collections

Using the Archives and Special Collections is different from using other resources in the library because the unique materials cannot be replaced and do not circulate. Materials in the University Archives and Special Collections are available by appointment only.  Appointments ensure that the University Archivist and Special Collections Librarian will be available for your visit and can retrieve the materials you wish to use from the climate-controlled vault.  By talking to the Archivist about your research in advance of your visit, the Archivist also may be able to identify additional materials in the collection that would be useful to you. 

Appointments are available Monday-Friday from 9:00 am-4:00 pm, excluding holidays. When the Archivist is out of the office, the department is closed to researchers. You can reach the Archivist at archives@salve.edu (preferred) or (401) 341-2276 (extension 2276 from campus phones). You are welcome to book a future appointment in person if the Archivist is in the office, or to come say hello!

You will view materials in McKillop 305, on the south side and silent floor of the library. This is the reading room and the archivist's office. From the stairs or elevator, go right until you see a hallway marked "Administrative Offices." Room 305 is the first office on the left.

Upon your arrival, you will fill out a Patron Registration Form and sign a copy of the access protocol before reviewing any materials. Frequent researchers must fill out one form per academic year. This form is a security measure and helps the department keep track of how often materials are used.

You will receive instruction in how to handle materials.  You won't always need gloves, but it's a good idea to wash your hands first! If you are ever unsure of how to handle something, ask the Archivist. Please refer to the Handling Archival Materials tab for more details on physically interacting with archival materials and artifacts.

Bags, coats, purses, laptop sleeves, coats, and other belongings are not permitted at the reading table.  The archivist will show you where to place your belongings during your visit. To prevent pests and damage to material, food or drink are not allowed in the Archives. For security reasons, staff reserve the right to inspect all articles used at the reading table.

Laptops, cameras, and mobile phone cameras are usually permitted for personal use. Laptops must be taken out of their sleeves; the sleeves must be stored with other personal belongings. While taking notes or photos with a mobile phone are allowed, please refrain from talking or texting while in the archives, and please silence all ringers and notifications. We are in close quarters and the noise may be distracting to other people working.

While material from the Archives and Special Collections does not circulate, you may be able to make copies. If you are interested in taking pictures of materials for your own research use, please check with the archivist to make sure there are no copyright or privacy restrictions.

The archivist may be able to make photocopies or scans of materials for your personal research use; copying fees may apply for external researchers. Provision of duplication does not constitute permission to publish. They must not be transferred to any other person or institution and must not be reproduced, published, exhibited, or otherwise distributed without written permission from Salve Regina University. Talk to the Archivist if you are interested in using images for publication, including social media or other online venues. Please refer to the Salve Regina University Archives Copyright and Publication Statement for details.

Copies of material in poor condition will be made at the discretion of the archivist.  The archivist will not copy fragile or brittle material if the copy process will cause damage to the original item.  The archivist may also decline to copy material because of access restrictions, privacy or confidentiality concerns, known copyright restrictions, or other identifiable factors. The archivist also reserves the right to reject any request for copies which would place an undue burden on the department's resources and staff.