Archives and Special Collections

The University Archives contains records of the university.  The Special Collections contain materials that originated outside the university.

The tabs above provide more information on specific holdings maintained by the University Archives & Special Collections available for research. To find out more about what's in the Archives and Special Collections, you can also visit the website. 

Some materials are available online!

• Digital Commons, the university's scholarly repository, which includes manuscript collections, university publications, and digitized issues of Regina Maris​
  • Digitized archival material via the Archives & Special Collections portal
• RIAMCO holds finding aids for special collections in a myriad of Rhode Island institutions, including Salve Regina.
• The Artstor Library is the home of digitized photographs and other media from Salve and other institutions:
  • Salve Regina University Archives Photographs
  • Salve Regina University Property & Architecture Images
  • South Kingstown Colonial Documents
  • Johannes von Gumppenberg Digital Collection

To view materials which have not been digitized, please make a research appointment in Archives; see the contact information below as well as the Visit the Archives tab.

Architecture & Geography

• The Newport Map Project is a collaboration between the Preservation Society of Newport County, Redwood Library and Athenaeum, and Salve Regina.
• Salve Regina Campus Buildings Virtual Tour

History

• Newport History online is a joint project of the McKillop Library and Newport Historical Society to digitize the Society's journal for the Salve Regina community and the journal's subscribers.
• Newportal is the combined digital catalog of the Newport Art Museum, Newport Historical Society, Newport Restoration Foundation, Preservation Society of Newport County, and Redwood Library & Athenaeum.
• Newport Historical Society provides access to its digital collections of artifacts, photographs, and manuscript collections.

Research Guides

• Dive Into Newport LibGuide
• Architecture & Heritage of Salve's Seven Estates
• Salve's Seven Estates: The People

• Ambassador John L. Loeb Jr. Visitors Center, Touro Synagogue
• Newport Art Museum
• Newport Historical Society
• Newport Restoration Foundation
• Point Association Archives and Oral Histories
• Preservation Society of Newport County
• Redwood Library and Athenaeum
• U. S. Naval War College Museum

Salve Regina Cook Book (Digital Commons, PDF). The Salve Regina College Guild, a group which served to further the image and connections of the college in its early days,  produced this cookbook of recipes gathered from the Salve Regina community in 1954.

• You can also purchase a print facsimile of the cookbook from Lulu.com.

archives@salve.edu 
SalveArchives on Facebook

By appointment:
Mon-Fri, 9:00am-4:00pm
McKillop Library, Room 023