Archives and Special Collections

Salve Regina University participates in RIAMCO, a searchable database of finding aids from several Rhode Island institutions. Salve Regina University's collections can be browsed here. Not all of the materials in the Archives and Special Collections have finding aids yet, so please contact the Archivist if you're looking for something else.

Researchers can search for archival material in WorldCat, the international union catalog, by using the 'archival material' facet on the left-hand sidebar to restrict search results to archival materials. On the advanced search screen, select the format 'archival materials' to restrict your search. You can also use ArchiveGrid, a growing database of finding aids and records from WorldCat, all in one search interface.

Other places you can look for primary sources are described in the Subject Searches for Primary Sources and Primary Sources Online tabs.

Unlike secondary source research, in which you can often find a book on any topic and find a copy in the library or request it through interlibrary loan, primary source research has many more obstacles to which you will have to respond. When you are interested in using primary sources for a research project, ask yourself the following questions and consider what you will do if the answer is no or otherwise presents a problem. Thinking about these before you get started will help you redesign or refocus your project if, say, the primary sources your want to you are inaccessible, illegible, restricted, or just don't exist. 

• What types of resources might exist on my topic? What resources are likely to have survived? 
• Who might have created primary sources about my topic?
• Where did these resources end up?
• Are these resources available to me? 
• Do these materials have any access or use restrictions?
• Can I visit the repository where they are held? If not, can I get copies or scans from the repository?
• Do I have adequate time to access and use the materials, whether that means going to a repository reading room or waiting for scans or copies?
• Are the materials digitized?
• Will I be able to read and understand the materials? Are they in a language I can read? Are they legible? Do I know what the materials are and understand enough of their context to draw conclusions about them?
• For example, do I understand enough about this scientist's research and cultural environment to make an argument about the impact of their research? Do I understand enough about the conventions of how architectural plans are created to describe this structure? Can I figure out the meaning of a text written in an older style of English with non-standardized spelling and different writing practices like the long S?    
• Am I willing to modify the types of sources I want to use or even alter my topic somewhat in order to work with extant materials that are available to me?

While libraries have catalogs of individual items in their collections, archival materials are usually described as collections. 

The collections, often called fonds, are organized by provenance.  That is, these collections are organized by the person, family, or institution that created or gathered the materials. Provenance can be defined as "where it comes from" -- the documented origin of materials which confirms their authenticity, age, and legal custody. You hear a lot about provenance, or provenience, in the museum world, too.

Archivists create finding aids, which are descriptions and inventories which give context to archival collections. Sometimes library catalogs include records for archival or manuscript collections so the finding aids are easily discoverable to the library's users.

A finding aid does not always exist for every collection, so sometimes only a box list or description is available. Additionally archival materials may be digitized in an institutional repository or digital library; this is especially true for photographs or other visual resources.