If getting to campus to check out books is not possible, you can limit your library catalog search to e-books held by Salve Regina. The library provides access to more than 600,000 ebooks to complement our print collection of 140,000 print books. The below video shows how to do a keyword, title, or subject heading search, and limit to e-books only, and how to remove certain books, such as Congressional hearings.
The library uses the Library of Congress classification system, which organizes books according to subject matter. In the library stacks, Library of Congress call numbers can make serendipitous discovery of other books on your topic possible-- finding one book on the shelf, you'll see more on the same topic on neighboring shelves.
In online research, you can use Library of Congress subject headings to lead you to other books on your topic. Here is a short video showing how to use subject headings from one book to find more books on your topic.
Google Books is a great option when you're not finding what you want in the library's book catalog. It sometimes even has the full text of the books it finds!
JZ5-6530 International relations
JZ24-38 Societies, associations, academies, institutes, etc., for the study of international relations
JZ221-1153 By region or country
JZ1249-1254 Relation to other disciplines and topics
JZ1305-2060 Scope of international relations. Political theory. Diplomacy
JZ1329.5-1395 By period
JZ1400-1454 Diplomatic and consular service
JZ1464-2060 Scope of international relations with regard to countries, territories, regions, etc.
JZ3674-3875 State territory and its parts
JZ3685 Boundaries
JZ3686-3875 International waters
JZ4835-5490 International organizations and associations
JZ4841-4848 Political non-governmental organizations. NGOs
JZ4850-5490 Intergovernmental organizations. IGOs
JZ4853-4934 League of Nations
JZ4935-5160 United Nations
JZ5511.2-6300 Promotion of peace. Peaceful change
JZ5514-5526 Societies, associations, academies, institutes, etc., for peace promotion, research and education
JZ5587-6009 International security. Disarmament. Global survival
JZ6010-6060 Pacific settlement of international disputes
JZ6360-6377 Non-military coercion
JZ6385-6405 The armed conflict. War and order
JZ6422-6422.5 Neutrality. Non-participation in wars. Norms of neutrality
JZ6530 Humanitarian aspects of war
KZ2-6795 Law of nations
Books with links are held by McKillop Library. If the book has no link or note that it is available in print only, McKillop Library does not own or license access to it.
Students may place an interlibrary loan request for books noted as available in print only. The entire book can be mailed by US postal service if students live in the United States or are serviced by APO/FPO. If you live outside of the United States or need the material more quickly, you may request a chapter to be scanned and emailed via interlibrary loan.
Africa Bibliography
1. Falola, Toyin and Kalu, Kenneth (Eds.) Africa and Globalization: Challenges of Governance and Creativity. Palgrave MacMillan, 2018.
2. Achebe, Nwando and Robertson, Claire, Eds. Holding the World Together: African Women in Changing Perspective. University of Wisconsin Press, 2019
3. Toulmin, Camilla. Climate Change in Africa. University of Chicago, Press, 2009.
4. William, Paul D. War and Conflict in Africa. Polity Press, 2011.
5. Packenham, Tom. The Scramble for Africa. Avon Books, 1991 (available in print only----request book by mail or a chapter emailed via interlibrary loan)
6. Edge, Deckle, China's Second Continent: How a Million Migrants Are Building a New Empire in Africa. Knopf, 2014
7. Burgis, Thomas. The Looting Machine: Warlords, Oligarchs, Corporations, Smugglers, and the Theft of Africa's Wealth. Public Affairs, 2015 (available in print only----request book by mail or a chapter emailed via interlibrary loan)
8. Murithi, Tim. The African Union: Autocracy, Diplomacy and Peacebuilding in Africa. LB Tauris, 2018.
9. Kalu, Kenneth, (Ed.) Africa’s Big Men: Predatory State-Society Relations in Africa. Routledge, 2018
10. Africa's Blue Economy: A policy handbook. United Nation Economic Commission for Africa, 2016.
European Bibliography
1. Peterson, John and Shackleton, Michael. The Institutions of the European Union. Oxford, 2012.
2. Dinan, Desmond. Ever Closer Union: An Introduction to European Integration. Lynne Riener Publisher, 2010.
3. Hill, Christopher, Michael Smith and Sophie Vanhoonacker, Eds. International Relations and the European Union. Oxford University Press, 2017.
4. Simms, Brendan. Europe: The Struggle for Supremacy, from 1453 to the Present. Basic Books, 2014.
5. Mix, Derek E. The European Union: Foreign and Security Policy. CRS Report for Congress (R41959). Congressional Research Service, 2013 http://www.fas.org/sgp/crs/row/R41959.pdf
6. Vaïsse, Justin and Susi Dennison. Introduction. European Foreign Policy Scorecard 2013. European Council on Foreign Relations, 2013.
7. Tiersky, Ronald and John van Oudenaren, Eds. European Foreign Policies: Does Europe Still Matter? Rowman & Littlefield, 2010.
8. Haas, Ernst B. The Uniting of Europe: Political, Social, and Economic Forces, 1950-1957 (revised edition). University of Notre Dame Press, 2004.
China Bibliography
1. CRS Report, U.S. China Relations, Congressional Research Service, 2019.
2. Dickson, Bruce J. The Dictator’s Dilemma: The Chinese Communist Party’s Strategy for Survival. Oxford University Press, 2016.
3. Ford, Christopher. The Mind of Empire: China’s History and Modern Foreign Relations. University of Kentucky Press, 2010.
4. Lemos, Gerard. The End of the Chinese Dream: Why Chinese People Fear the Future. Yale University Press, 2012.
5. Lanteigne, Marc. Chinese Foreign Policy. Routledge, 2015.
6. Mühlhahn, Klaus. Making China Modern: From the Great Qing to Xi Jinping. Belknap Press, 2019.
7. Ringen, Stein. The Perfect Dictatorship: China in the 21st Century. Hong Kong University Press, 2016.
8. Shambaugh, David. China Goes Global: The Partial Power. Oxford University Press, 2013.
9. Schaller, Michael. The United States and China: Into the Twenty-First Century. Oxford, 2015.
10. Sutter, Robert. U.S.-Chinese Relations: Perilous Past, Pragmatic Present. Rowman and Littlefield, 2010.
11. Sutter, Robert. Foreign Relations of the PRC: The Legacies and Constraints of China’s International Politics since 1949. Rowman and Littlefield, 2019. (available in print only----request book by mail or a chapter emailed via interlibrary loan)
12. Schell, Orville, and John Delury. 2013. Wealth and Power: China’s March to the Twenty-first Century. Random House, 2013 (available in print only----request book by mail or a chapter emailed via interlibrary loan)
13. Wang, Zheng. Never Forget National Humiliation: Historical Memory in Chinese Politics and Foreign Relations. Columbia University Press, 2012.
Russia Bibliography
1. Cohen, Stephen. War with Russia?: From Putin & Ukraine to Trump & Russiagate. Hot Books, 2019.
2. Colton, Timothy. Russia: What Everyone Needs To Know. Oxford University Press, 2016.
3. Legvold, Robert C. Return to Cold War. Polity, 2016.
4. Sakwa, Richard. Russia Against the Rest: The Post-Cold War Crisis of World. New Cambridge University Press, 2017.
5. Sakwa, Richard. Russia's Futures. Polity, 2019.
6. Smith, Mark. The Russia Anxiety. Oxford University Press, 2019
7. Tsygankov, Andrei. Russia’s Foreign Policy. Rowman & Littlefield, 2019.
8. Tsygankov, Andrei. The Strong State in Russia: Development and Crisis. Oxford University Press, 2014.
9. Tsygankov, Andrei. Russia and the West from Alexander to Putin: Honor in International Relations. Cambridge University Press, 2014.
10. Tsygankov, Russia and America: The Asymmetric Rivalry. Polity, 2019.
11. Wegren, Stephen, Ed. Putin’s Russia: Past Imperfect, Future Uncertain. New York: Rowman and Littlefield, 2019. (available in print only----request book by mail or a chapter emailed via interlibrary loan)
12. Hoisking, Geoffrey. Russia and the Russians. Harvard, 2012. (available in print only----request book by mail or a chapter emailed via interlibrary loan)
United States Bibliography
1. Acheson, Dean. Present at the Creation. Norton, 1969. (available in print only----request book by mail or a chapter emailed via interlibrary loan)
2. Allison, Graham and Zelikow, Philip Essence of Decision: Explaining the Cuban Missile Crisis, Pearson, 1999. (available in print only----request book by mail or a chapter emailed via interlibrary loan)
3. Baker, James A. III, with DeFrank, Thomas M. The Politics of Diplomacy: Revolution, War and Peace, 1989-1992. Putnam’s, 1995. (available in print only----request book by mail or a chapter emailed via interlibrary loan)
4. Brzezinski, Zbigniew, Second Chance. Basic Books, 2007. (available in print only----request book by mail or a chapter emailed via interlibrary loan)
5. Brzezinski, Zbigniew, Strategic Vision. Basic Books, 2012.
6. Bush, George and Scowcroft, Brent. A World Transformed. Knopf, 1998.(available in print only----request book by mail or a chapter emailed via interlibrary loan)
7. Bush, George W. Decision Points. Crown, 2010.
8. Codevilla, Angelo. To Make and Keep Peace Among Ourselves and with All Nations. Hoover Institution, 2014.
9. Engel, Jeffrey A. et all, Eds. America in the World: A History in Documents from the War with Spain to the War on Terror. Princeton University Press, 2014.
10. George, Alexander. Presidential Decision-making in Foreign Policy. Westview Press, 1980
12. Hoffman, Stanley. Duties Beyond Borders. Syracuse University Press, 1981.(available in print only----request book by mail or a chapter emailed via interlibrary loan)
13. Huntington, Samuel P. American Politics: The Promise of Disharmony. Belknap Press, 1981.
14. Kennan, George F. American Diplomacy. University of Chicago Press, 2012. (available in print only----request book by mail or a chapter emailed via interlibrary loan)
15. Kissinger, Henry. Crisis: The Anatomy of Two Major Foreign Policy Crises. Simon & Schuster, 2003. (available in print only----request book by mail or a chapter emailed via interlibrary loan)
16. Kochin, Michael S. and Taylor, Michael. An Independent Empire: Diplomacy & War in the Making of the United States. University of Michigan Press, 2020.
17. McDougall, Walter A. Promised Land, Crusader State: The American Encounter with the World Since 1776. Houghton Mifflin Harcourt, 1997.
18. Mead, Walter Russell. Special Providence: American Foreign Policy and How It Changed the World. Routledge, 2002.(available in print only----request book by mail or a chapter emailed via interlibrary loan)
19. Vance, Cyrus. Hard Choices: Critical Years in America’s Foreign Policy. Simon and Schuster, 1983.(available in print only----request book by mail or a chapter emailed via interlibrary loan)
20. Zegart, Amy B. Flawed by Design: The Evolution of the CIA, JCS, and NSC. Stanford: Stanford University Press, 1999.
Middle East Bibliography
1. Aslan, Reza. No God but God: The Origins, Evolution, and Future of Islam. Random House, 2005.(available in print only----request book by mail or a chapter emailed via interlibrary loan)
2. Bacevich, Andrew J. America's War for the Greater Middle East: A Military History. Random House, 2017.
3. Cagaptay, Soner. The New Sultan: Erdogan and the Crisis of Modern Turkey. I.B. Tauris, 2017.(available in print only----request book by mail or a chapter emailed via interlibrary loan)
4. Gelvin, James L. The Modern Middle East: A History, 4th edition. Oxford University Press, 2016.(available in print only----request book by mail or a chapter emailed via interlibrary loan)
5. Ghattas, Kim. Black Wave: Saudi Arabia, Iran, and the Forty-Year Rivalry That Unraveled Culture, Religion, and Collective Memory in the Middle East. Henry Holt and Co., 2020.(available in print only----request book by mail or a chapter emailed via interlibrary loan)
6. Hafez, Mohammed M. Why Muslims Rebel: Repression and Resistance In The Islamic World. Lynne Rienner, 2003. (available in print only----request book by mail or a chapter emailed via interlibrary loan)
7. Khalidi, Rashid. The Hundred Years’ War on Palestine: A History of Settler Colonialism and Resistance, 1917-2017. Henry Holt and Co., 2020. (available in print only----request book by mail or a chapter emailed via interlibrary loan)
8. Ross, Michael J. The Oil Curse: How Petroleum Wealth Shapes the Development of Nations. Princeton University Press, 2012.
9. Kirkpatrick, David D. Into the Hands of the Soldiers: Freedom and Chaos in Egypt and the Middle East. Penguin Books, 2019.
Korea and Japan Bibliography
1. Johnson, Chalmers. Japan: Who Governs? The Rise of the Developmental State. W.W. Norton & Company, 1995.
2. Dudden, Alexis. Troubled Apologies Among Japan, Korea, and the United States. Columbia University Press, 2008.
3. Oberdorfer, Donald and Carlin, Robert. The Two Koreas: A Contemporary History. Basic Books, 2014.
4. Tudor, Daniel and Pearson James. North Korea Confidential: Private Markets, Fashion Trends, Prison Camps, Dissenters, and Defectors. Tuttle, 2015.
5. Heo, Uk and Roehrig, Terence, South Korea since 1980. Cambridge University Press, 2010.
6. Jackso, Van. On the Brink: Trump, Kim, and the Threat of Nuclear War. Cambridge University Press, 2018.
7. Cha, Victor D. and Kang. David C. Nuclear North Korea: A Debate on Engagement Strategies. Columbia University Press 2018.
8. Lankov, Andrei. The Real North Korea: Life and Politics in the Failed Stalinist Utopia. Oxford University Press, 2013.
9. Smith, Sheila. Japan Rearmed: The Politics of Military Power. Harvard University Press, 2019.
10. Oros, Andrew. Japan’s Security Renaissance: New Policies and Politics for the Twenty-First Century. Columbia University Press, 2017.
South Asia Bibliography
1. Banerjee, Abhijit and Duflo, Esther. Poor Economics: A Radical Rethinking of the Way to Fight Global Poverty. Public Affairs, 2012.
2. Bose, Sumantra. Transforming India: Challenges to the World’s Largest Democracy. Harvard University Press, 2013.
3. Blass, Gary J. The Blood Telegram: Nixon, Kissinger, and a Forgotten Genocide. Vintage, 2014. (available in print only----request book by mail or a chapter emailed via interlibrary loan)
4. Chellaney, Brahma. Water: Asia’s Next Battleground. Georgetown University Press, 2011.
5. Lieven, Anatol. Pakistan: A Hard Country. Public Affairs, 2012.
6. Manuel, Anja. This Brave New World: India, China, and the United States. Simon and Schuster, 2016. (available in print only----request book by mail or a chapter emailed via interlibrary loan)
7. Nawaz, Shuja. The Battle for Pakistan: The Bitter US Friendship and a Tough Neighbourhood. Rowman & Littlefield, 2020. (available in print only----request book by mail or a chapter emailed via interlibrary loan)
Latin America Bibliography
1. Williams, Mark Eric, Understanding U.S.-Latin American Relations. Routledge, 2012.
2. Weeks, Gregory, U.S. and Latin American Relations. Pearson, 2015.
3. Dominguez, Jorge and Fernandez de Castro, Rafael, Contemporary U.S.-Latin American Relations:Cooperation or Conflict in the 21st Century. Routledge, 2010.
4. Dominguez, Jorge. To Make A World Safe for Revolution: Cuban Foreign Policy. Harvard University Press, 1989.
5. LaRosa, Michael and Mora, Frank O. Eds. Neighborly Adversaries: Readings in U.S.-Latin American Relations. Rowman and Littlefield, 1999.
6. Gilderhus, Mark, LaFevor, David and LaRosa, Michael, Eds. The Third Century: U.S.-Latin American Relations since 1889. Rowman and Littlefield, 2017.
7. Lowenthal, Abraham, Eds. Exporting Democracy: The United States and Latin America, Johns Hopkins University Press, 1991.
8. Sigmund, Paul. The United States and Democracy in Chile. Johns Hopkins University Press, 1993.
9. Allison, Graham and Zelikow, Phillip. Essence of Decision: Explaining the Cuban Missile Crisis. Longman, 1999. (available in print only----request book by mail or a chapter emailed via interlibrary loan)
10. Harrison, Lawrence. The Pan-American Dream: Do Latin American Cultural Values Discourage True Partnership with the United States and Canada. Basic Books, 1997.