Getting started
This guide is designed to connect with local government resources in the state of Rhode Island. Most publications are freely available online. The following offices listed below are good places to start to find the most requested information. Note that other "tabs" in this guide will take you to more specific resources. If you need assistance or would like to schedule a research consultation, contact a research librarian through email at salvelibrarian@salve.edu, through our online chat service (see chat box on this page) or by calling 401-341-2289.
Other research guides that may be helpful:
- Rhode Island Office of Secretary of StateCovers voter and elected official information, business guidance and reports, Rhode Island general law, public records, boards and commissions, legislation information, lobbying information, and state agencies.
- Rhode Island governmentA comprehensive website for accessing Rhode Island government agencies including practicalities such as licensing, portals for contacting elected officials, business-related resources, and information about living, visiting, and finding employment in the state.
- State of Rhode Island General AssemblyEverything you need to know about the Rhode Island General Assembly, including budgets, fiscal reports, legislative calendars, and special reports.
- Rhode Island State LibraryThe Rhode Island State Library's catalog allows you to browse for the library's collection which includes state agency reports, executive orders, federal documents, Rhode Island Public Laws volumes, historic and current Rhode Island General Law collections, and books on Rhode Island history.
- Rhode Island State ArchivesThe State Archives is home to more than 10 million letters, photographs, and important state documents that form a permanent, tangible record of Rhode Island’s rich history. The holdings date back to 1638.
- Rhode Island Government Transparency PortalView expenditure data for the four most recent Fiscal Years according to Category, Agency, Payee, and Program. The data presented for each method is updated weekly from the State accounting system and is presented in a user-friendly format. The RI Transparency Portal expenditure search is applicable only to specific agencies.
Politics and Government
- Directory of Government OfficialsProvides 24/7 access to up‑to‑date contact information for federal, state and local elected officials and many local and state agencies.
- Directory of Cities and TownsDiscover current office holders and how to reach them through this directory.
- Upcoming Elections in RIProvides voter registration and mail ballot deadlines for upcoming elections.
- Election GuidelinesA digital guide for candidates interested in running for office.
- Tutorials on Lobbying in Rhode IslandTutorials and guides on lobbying for entities, lobbying firms, lobbyists, and profile managers.
- Election ResultsPeruse past election results from the state's Board of Elections.
- Women in State LegislaturesAn overview of the statistics of female representation in state legislatures.
- Rhode Island's Elected OfficialsContact information for the state's elected officials and agencies.
- Rhode Island Code of EthicsThe Code of Ethics regulates conflicts of interest, which occur when a public official or employee’s public duties intersect with his or her private interests. In 1976, the Rhode Island General Assembly enacted the state’s first Code of Ethics and created the “Conflict of Interest Commission” to enforce it.
Labor, Employment and the Economy
- State of Rhode Island BudgetThe state's Office of Management and Budget provides access to the state's current operating budget and previous year's budgets.
- Annual Financial ReportsComprehensive annual financial reports, dating back to the year 2000, along with a detailed budgetary comparison that extends to 2010.
- Department of Business RegulationA regulator for a wide variety of businesses in the state including insurance, banking, real estate, gaming & athletics, securities & charitable organizations, and liquor.
- Rhode Island Student Loan Authority ReportsRISLA provides low cost state-based education loans, reward programs for certain professions, and loan forgiveness efforts.
- Employment BulletinThe Employment Bulletin is a monthly newsletter that provides information on Labor Market Information (LMI) and Department of Labor and Training (DLT) activities, the civilian labor force statistics, employment by industry, manufacturing hours and earnings, as well as various other economic data. Coverage dates to 2000.
- Rhode Island Labor Market InformationLabor Market Information describes the labor area in terms of its jobs, workers, wages, industrial structure and economic conditions. The Labor Market Information (LMI) Unit is responsible for the collection, analysis, dissemination and publication of a wide variety of information on the Rhode Island labor market.
Laws and Legislation
- State of Rhode Island General LawsThe Legislature and Legislative Data Systems makes regular updates to assure the accuracy and timeliness of the information placed on this page. There may be times between updates, however, when information is not current. This information is prepared as an informational service only and should not be relied upon as an official record of any action taken by the Rhode Island General Assembly.
- Office of the Attorney GeneralProvides access to the AG's annual report, and information on consumer protection, background checks, online security awareness, and annual reports of Access to Public Records Act and Open Meetings Act.
- Tenants Rights in Rhode IslandLinks to the Rhode Island Landlord-Tenant Handbook, and Rhode Island Landlord-Tenant law.
Other Resources
- Rhode Island State Constitution byCall Number: e-bookPublication Date: 2011In addition to an overview of Rhode Island's constitutional history, this book provides an in-depth, section-by-section analysis of the entire constitution, detailing the many significant changes that have been made since its initial drafting.
Ask-A-Librarian
Need research assistance?
Click to Meet with a Librarian
Contact the library:
Call us at 401-341-2289
Email us at salvelibrarian@salve.edu
Chat with us from any library web page
Visit us at the information desk
Find us in the staff directory
Ask a Librarian
Lisa Richter
she, her, hers
Contact:
McKillop Library, Rm 203
100 Ochre Point Avenue
Newport, RI 02840 USA
100 Ochre Point Avenue
Newport, RI 02840 USA
401-341-2284
Subjects: *Research and Writing*, Behavior Analysis, Biology, Chemistry, Counseling, Dance, Healthcare Administration, Holistic Leadership, Humanities, Information & Digital Literacy, Mathematics, Music, Nursing, Psychology, Rehabilitation Counseling, Science, Social Work, Sociology & Anthropology, Theatre, University Seminars