On This Page
Still Struggling?
Conversing with someone else about your research and writing process can be incredibly helpful. Contact staff at McKillop Library or the Writing Center using the links below.
Resources
MLA Handbook by Call Number: McKillop Library Reference Ref Z253 .G53 2016Publication Date: 2016The Modern Language Association, the authority on research and writing, takes a fresh look at documenting sources in the eighth edition of the MLA Handbook. Shorter and redesigned for easy use, the eighth edition of the MLA Handbook guides writers through the principles behind evaluating sources for their research. It then shows them how to cite sources in their writing and create useful entries for the works-cited list. More than just a new edition, this is a new MLA style. -Back cover
- Excelsior OWL MLAResource provides an overview of paper formatting, in-text citations, and bibliographic entries. Use the left navigation bar to find needed information.
- Purdue OWL MLAProvides information on citations, quoting, in-text citations, and creating a works cited page. Also offers a sample MLA paper.
Examples of Common MLA Citations
Books
*A note on publishers: If the publisher is a university press, use only U and P to refer to "university press." e.g. Cambridge UP, U of Arkansas P.
Book with one author:
Lastname, Firstname Middle Initial. Title of Book: Subtitle of Book. Publisher, Year.
Note: If the book was published before 1900, you also include the location of the publisher, as follows:
Lastname, Firstname Middle Initial. Title of Book: Subtitle of Book. Location, Publisher, Year.
Example:
Chojnacki, Matthew. Alternative Movie Posters: Film Art from the Underground. Schiffer Publishing, 2013.
Books with two authors:
Lastname, Firstname Middle Initial, and Firstname Middle Initial Lastname. Title of Book: Subtitle of Book. Publisher, Year.
Books with three or more authors:
Lastname, Firstname Middle Initial, et al. Title of Book: Subtitle of Book. Publisher, Year.
An edited book (e.g. collection of essays or another source with no original author):
Lastname, Firstname Middle Initial, editor. Title of Book: Subtitle of Book. Publisher, Year.
An edited book with original author:
AuthorLastname, AuthorFirstname, edited by EditorFirstname EditorLastname. Title of Book: Subtitle of Book. Publisher, Year.
Articles
Article found in a database or open web with one author:
Lastname, Firstname Middle Initial. "Title of Article: Subtitle of Article." Title of Journal, Volume, Issue, Year, pages, doi: OR Database, permalink/stable link to source.
Example:
Matthews, Dan. "A Technical and Contextual Analysis of Scenography through Sculptural Reproduction: Hofman and Tröster's Hamlets." Theatralia, vol. 21, no. 2, 2018, pp. 29-37. Film & Television Literature Index, doi:10.5817/TY2018-2-3.
Article found in print with one author:
Lastname, Firstname Middle Initial. "Title of Article: Subtitle of Article." Title of Journal, Volume, Issue, Year, pages.
Article found on the open web with one author:
Lastname, Firstname Middle Initial. "Title of Article: Subtitle of Article." Title of Journal, Volume, Issue, Year, URL. Accessed Day Month Year.
Article (from the open web) with two authors:
Lastname, Firstname Middle Initial, and Firstname Middle Initial Lastname. "Title of Article: Subtitle of Article." Title of Journal, Volume, Issue, Year, URL. Accessed Day Month Year.
Article with three or more authors:
Lastname, Firstname Middle Initial, et al. "Title of Article: Subtitle of Article." Title of Journal, Volume, Issue, Year, URL. Accessed Day Month Year.
Websites
Note: this is for websites only—online newspapers/magazines articles are similar to articles above.
Website with one author:
Lastname, Firstname Middle Initial. Title of Website. Day Month Year, URL.
Web page (1 page of a larger website)
Lastname, Firstname Middle Initial. "Title of Webpage." Title of Website, Day Month Year, https://owl.english.purdue.edu/owl/resource/560/01/.
Example:
Paiz, Joshua, et al. "General Format." Purdue Online Writing Lab, 5 May 2010, https://owl.english.purdue.edu/owl/resource/560/01/.
Website with a corporate or organizational author:
Organization name. Title of Website. Day Month Year, URL.