Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

**Research and Writing**

Welcome! This guide will help you develop your research and writing skills by providing foundational knowledge of the iterative research and writing process as well as manageable steps for breaking down and navigating college research projects.

Still Struggling?

Conversing with someone else about your research and writing process can be incredibly helpful.  Contact someone at McKillop Library or the Writing Center using the links below.

Resources

Examples of Common Chicago Citations

The following examples illustrate the Chicago Manual of Style's Notes and Bibliography format (for Author-Date format, please see the manual).  Examples are provided for entries in both footnotes and the bibliography.

Books

*A note on publisher location: typically, only use the city of the first publication location provided.  However, if the city is likely to be unknown to your readers or if it can be confused with another city of the same name, include the two-letter abbreviation of the state or province.

Book with one author:

Footnote:

Firstname Lastname, Title of Book: Subtitle of Book (Publisher Location: Publisher, Year), pg#

Bibliography: 

Lastname, First Name. Title of Book: Subtitle of Book. Publisher Location: Publisher, Year.

Example:

Footnote: 

Matthew Chojnacki, Alternative Movie Posters: Film Art from the Underground (Atglen, PA: Schiffer Publishing, 2013), 33.

Bibliography:

Chojnacki, MatthewAlternative Movie Posters: Film Art from the UndergroundAtglen, PA: Schiffer Publishing, 2013. 

 

Books with two to three authors:

Footnote: 

Firstname Lastname, Firstname Lastname, and Firstname Lastname, Title of Book: Subtitle of Book (Publisher Location: Publisher, Year), pg#

Bibliography:

Lastname, Firstname M., Firstname Lastname, and Firstname Lastname. Title of Book: Subtitle of Book. Publisher Location: Publisher, Year.

 

Books with four to ten authors:

Footnote: 

Firstname Lastname et al., Title of Book: Subtitle of Book (Publisher Location: Publisher, Year), pg#

Bibliography:

Lastname, Firstname M., Firstname M. Lastname, Firstname M. Lastname, and Firstname Lastname. Title of Book: Subtitle of Book. Publisher Location: Publisher, Year.

 

An edited book with two editors:

Footnote: 

Firstname Lastname and Firstname Lastname, eds., Title of Book: Subtitle of Book (Publisher Location: Publisher, Year), pg#

Bibliography:

LastnameFirstname, and Firstname Lastname, edsTitle of Book: Subtitle of Book. Publisher Location: Publisher, Year.

 

Articles

Footnote:

Firstname M. Lastname, "Title of Article: Subtitle of Article,"  Title of Journal vol#, no. iss# (Month Year): pages, DOI.

*Note: If no DOI is available, use a stable URL if from a freely available source or the database name if the source is from a library or commercial database that requires a subscription.

Bibliography:

Lastname, Firstname M.  "Title of Article: Subtitle of Article." Title of Journal vol#, no. iss# (Month Year): pages. DOI.

Example:

Footnote:

Margaret Lock, "Comprehending the Body in the Era of Epigenome," Current Anthropology 56, no. 2 (April 2015): 155, https://doi-org.ez-salve.idm.oclc.org/10.1086/680350.

Bibliography:

Lock, Margaret. "Comprehending the Body in the Era of Epigenome." Current Anthropology 56, no. 2 (April 2015): 151-157. https://doi-org.ez-salve.idm.oclc.org/10.1086/680350.

 

Websites

*Note: According to Section 14.207 of the manual, citations of websites can often be limited to just your notes.  Check with your professor to see if adding website citations to your bibliography is necessary.  We have added examples of what it might look like if you need to add a website citation to your bibliography.

Note: this is for websites only—online newspapers/magazines articles are similar to articles above

Notes:

Firstname M. Lastname "Title of Page,"  Title of Site or Owner, date last modified or accessed, URL.

Bibliography:

Lastname, Firstname M. "Title of Page."  Title of Site or Owner. Date last modified or accessed. URL.

 

Example:

Notes:

Keith A. Johnson and J. Alex Becker "The Whole Brain Atlas,"  Harvard University Medical School, accessed May 29, 2020, https://www.med.harvard.edu/AANLIB/.

Bibliography:

Johnson, Keith A. and J. Alex Becker.  "The Whole Brain Atlas."  Harvard University Medical School. Accessed May 29, 2020. https://www.med.harvard.edu/AANLIB/.