Education: Collections for Social Studies

Organized by eras and topics, this website provides timelines, primary resources, handouts, and more for the classroom.

Overseen by the National Archives, provides primary documents and classroom activities that can be used to engage students. Provides capability to design your own interactive learning activity.

Use the homepage to navigate to resources for teachers. The Institute’s mission is to promote the knowledge and understanding of American history through educational programs and resources aimed at K-12 learners.

Provides games and other tools for teaching students about civics.

Provides digital tools and resources for teaching social studies.

Provides lessons on various historical topics.

Provides lesson plans, documents, and other resources for teaching social studies. Also provides teacher content support in the form of webinars and seminars aimed at specific topics.

Provides tools and lesson planning aimed at reducing prejudice, improving intergroup relations and supporting equitable school experiences for all children. Can search lessons by age group and topic.

Includes links to information about the American flag, U.S. data and statistics, information about the branches of government, as well as historical documents and data.

Overseen by the Center for History and New Media, acts as a portal to other websites and online resources for social studies education.

Contains items from the Library of Congress Geography and Map Division, the Library of Virginia, and the Virginia Historical Society.

A web mapping service developed by Google. It offers satellite imagery, street maps, 360° panoramic views of streets (Street View), real-time traffic conditions (Google Traffic), and route planning for traveling by foot, car, bicycle (in beta), or public transportation.

Search over 400,000 maps available through the Library of Congress.

More than 100 General Maps are available currently. Maps are in PDF format for best display and print results.

Creative Commons works with the organizations that are leaders in the content and knowledge sharing movement. Over 1.1 billions works have been shared across areas like arts & culture, open access, educational resources and OER, open data, legal, open science, policy & advocacy, and technology.

DPLA partners with libraries and other cultural heritage institutions across the nation to provide free, digital access to materials.

A large digital repository created as a collaborative effort from Google Books, Internet Archive, and a number of cultural heritage institutions.

Provides large collection of materials and collections that can be used in the classroom.

Provides large collection of materials that can be used in the classroom.

Access thousands of free, innovative, standards-aligned and curriculum-targeted digital resources.

Discover resources, create collections or tools for assessment, and share your work and ideas with this valuable resource.