Find Articles in Select Ebscohost Databases
Searching Databases
Searching Databases
What is a Database?
Research databases are online tools used to search for articles on your topic. Databases allow you to search for articles by keyword across a wide range of journals/newspapers/magazines at one time. Most library databases contain citations, abstracts, or full-text journal articles from thousands of magazines, journals, newspapers, historical documents, and other literary works.
Many (but not all) of the articles listed in the databases are available in full-text format. Full-text means the entire text of the article is available online. You can read, print, or email the article directly from the computer. If you find an article we do not have full-text, we can get it for you through Interlibrary Loan.
The McKillop Library subscribes to over 140 databases. Two of the most frequently used general databases are Academic Search Complete and JSTOR. These databases contain full-text articles or citations to articles from journals, magazines, and newspapers on a broad range of topics. To identify a database in your field of study go to the Databases by Subject page.
Searching a Database
Suggested Databases
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
A large multidisciplinary database providing articles from scholarly journals and magazines.
- Film and Television Literature Index This link opens in a new window
A bibliographic database covering the entire spectrum of television and film writing.
- International Bibliography of Theater and Dance This link opens in a new window
Indexes journal articles, books, book chapters, and dissertations on all aspects of theatre and the performing arts.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowAn archive of full-text academic journals and ebooks from the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Now also includes the image database ArtStor. Journals in JSTOR have an embargo, which means that most journals do not include the most recent approximately 3 to 5 years of issues.
Ask-A-Librarian
Need research assistance?
Click to Meet with a Librarian
Contact the library:
Call us at 401-341-2289
Email us at salvelibrarian@salve.edu
Chat with us from any library web page
Visit us at the information desk
Find us in the staff directory
Selected Periodicals
The current issues of journals and magazines in the library are located on the first floor. Older issues are located in bound (book) format or as microform on the second floor. All the Performing Arts journals available in the library are listed in our Journals list (search by title or keyword).
On Dramaturgy
- LMDA Review Annual publication whose mission is to provide a venue for exploration of dramaturgy, and for ongoing conversation about the work of the dramaturg and the literary manager and their relationship to all aspects of theatre-making.