Find Articles in Select Ebscohost Databases
Searching Databases
Searching Databases
What is a Database?
Research databases are online tools used to search for articles on your topic. Databases allow you to search for articles by keyword across a wide range of journals/newspapers/magazines at one time. Most library databases contain citations, abstracts, or full-text journal articles from thousands of magazines, journals, newspapers, historical documents, and other literary works.
Many (but not all) of the articles listed in the databases are available in full-text format. Full-text means the entire text of the article is available online. You can read, print, or email the article directly from the computer. If you find an article we do not have full-text, we can get it for you through Interlibrary Loan.
The McKillop Library subscribes to over 140 databases. Two of the most frequently used general databases are Academic Search Complete and JSTOR. These databases contain full-text articles or citations to articles from journals, magazines, and newspapers on a broad range of topics. To identify a database in your field of study go to the Databases by Subject page.
Searching a Database
Suggested Databases
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
A large multidisciplinary database providing articles from scholarly journals and magazines.
- Alt Health Watch This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text publications about complementary and alternative approaches to health and medicine, including holistic counseling and rehabilitation counseling.
- CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window
Offers full-text journal articles for nursing and allied health topics.
- Gale Ebooks This link opens in a new windowA collection of over 100 online reference books, including specialized encyclopedias in many topic areas.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowAn archive of full-text academic journals and ebooks from the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Now also includes the image database ArtStor. Journals in JSTOR have an embargo, which means that most journals do not include the most recent approximately 3 to 5 years of issues.
- PsycArticles This link opens in a new window
Contains full-text articles from journals published by American Psychological Association and allied organizations. Coverage includes general psychology and specialized basic, applied, clinical, and theoretical research in psychology.
- PsycInfo This link opens in a new window
Indexes psychology-related journal articles, book chapters, books, and technical reports.
- Sage Journals This link opens in a new windowIncludes over 1,100 full-text journals with coverage of a wide range of subject areas, as well as journals published on behalf of over 500 scholarly and professional societies. 1999 to present.
- ScienceDirect This link opens in a new windowProvides full-text scholarly journals in science, nursing, and medicine. 1995-present.
- SciFinder This link opens in a new windowReturning Users: Login using your username & password.
First Time Users: To register for an account, you need to be on campus. Register here to create user name and password.
Provides access to research from many scientific disciplines including chemistry and the life sciences including: biochemistry, biology, pharmacology, medicine, and related disciplines, as well as organic and inorganic substance information. This database allows a maximum of 3 simultaneous users. - Social Science Full Text This link opens in a new window
Provides articles from social science journals.
Ask-A-Librarian
Need research assistance?
Click to Meet with a Librarian
Contact the library:
Call us at 401-341-2289
Email us at salvelibrarian@salve.edu
Chat with us from any library web page
Visit us at the information desk
Find us in the staff directory
Off-Campus Access
To access databases, ebooks, or other library resources from off-campus, you will be asked to enter the following information:
- your Salve email-- and
- your password (same as Salve email password)
- More...