Research Guides: Social Work: Find Articles

Search Selected EBSCOhost Databases

Research databases are online tools used to search for articles on your topic. Databases allow you to search for articles by keyword across a wide range of journals/newspapers/magazines at one time. Most library databases contain citations, abstracts, or full-text journal articles from thousands of magazines, journals, newspapers, historical documents, and other literary works.

Many (but not all) of the articles listed in the databases are available in full-text format. Full-text means the entire text of the article is available online. You can read, print, or email the article directly from the computer. If you find an article we do not have full-text, we can get it for you through Interlibrary Loan.

McKillop Library subscribes to over 140 databases. Two of the most frequently used general databases are Academic Search Complete and JSTOR. These databases contain full-text articles or citations to articles from journals, magazines, and newspapers on a broad range of topics. To identify a database in your field of study go to the Databases by Subject page.

Selecting and Using Keywords

Social Work Databases

PsycINFO (EBSCOhost)
PsycINFO contains citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, and technical reports, as well as citations to dissertations, all in the field of psychology and psychological aspects of related disciplines, such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business, and law.
PsycARTICLES (EBSCOhost)
PsycARTICLES contains more than 25,000 full-text articles from 42 journals published by American Psychological Association and allied organizations. Coverage includes general psychology and specialized basic, applied, clinical, and theoretical research in psychology.
Social Work Abstracts (EBSCOhost)
Social Work Abstracts offers extensive coverage of more than 450 social work and human services journals dating back to 1977. Produced by the National Association of Social Workers (NASW), the database provides citations and abstracts dealing with all aspects of the social work field, including theory and practice, areas of service and social issues and problems. Researchers seeking scholarly and professional perspectives on subjects such as therapy, education, human services, addictions, child and family welfare, mental health, civil and legal rights, economics and more will find Social Work Abstracts to be an indispensable resource. Links provided to full-text owned by Salve.
Social Science Full Text (EBSCOhost)
This database covers both the applied and theoretical aspects of the social sciences. Subject areas covered include anthropology, criminal justice, economics, ethics, family & gender studies, geography, international relations, law, political science, psychiatry, psychology, social work, sociology and urban studies. Includes full text from over 200 publications and abstracting/indexing of over 600 publications as far back as 1983.

CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window
Offers full-text journal articles for nursing and allied health topics.
http://salve.libguides.com/cinahl_complete
MEDLINE This link opens in a new window
Indexes medical journals.
http://salve.libguides.com/medline
PubMed Central This link opens in a new window
A digital archive of biomedical and life sciences journal articles. It is a subset of PubMed which is limited to those articles where the full-text is directly available via PubMed.
http://salve.libguides.com/pubmed_central

Academic Search Premier (EBSCOhost)
Provides full text for more than 5,000 scholarly publications covering all academic areas of study including social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies.
Sage Journals Online (Sage Publishing)
SAGE Publications publishes over 460 journals in Business, Humanities, Social Sciences, and Science, Technology and Medicine. SAGE Journals Online is the delivery platform that provides online access to the full text of individual SAGE journals. Full text of journal articles is from 1999 Present for most journals.
OmniFile FullText Mega (Wilson)
OmniFile provides access to 6 core Wilson databases including full-text from over 2,000 publications and abstracting/and indexing of another 3,800 periodicals. Covers almost all areas of academic interest including art, biology,business, education, general sciences, humanities, law, library and information science and social sciences.
Films on Demand Master Academic Collection (Films Media Group)
Films On Demand is a state-of-the-art streaming video platform that provides the ability to view digital video in real time. You can use Films On Demand to search for specific video segments, organize videos into folders, and create personal playlists for others to view. The collection includes over 5,600 full length programs including 4,000 titles in the Humanities & Social Sciences, 1,600 in Science & Mathematics, 1,100 in Health & Medicine, and 700 in Business & Economics.

Proquest Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
A large collection of ebooks. Previously called Ebrary.
https://salve.libguides.com/proquest_ebook_central

Linking Google Scholar to McKillop Library resources

1. https://scholar.google.com/
2. Click the "hamburger" button (3 horizontal lines in upper left)
3. Go to "settings"
4. Go to "library links"
5. Type in "Salve," hit enter, and check "Salve Regina University Library"
6. Hit save - now "Find @ Salve" links should appear when you search in Google Scholar. Note that you will have to enable cookies in order for these settings to maintain, otherwise you may need to turn on library links in future searches.

Off-Campus Access

To access databases, ebooks, or other library resources from off-campus, you will be asked to enter the following information:

your Salve email-- and
your password (same as Salve email password)
More...

E-journals

To check for availability of a specific journal title, go to the Journals List. Enter the title of the journal you are searching for.

You will get a listing of the print and/or electronic availability of this journal. If a journal is available online, this list will tell you which library database contains the full-text, and for which years we have the full-text available. You can browse the electronic journal issues by clicking on the database name.