Finding Articles Using the Library Databases
As with books, search databases using keywords (so if your research question was "What impact did the slave trade have on the early development of Rhode Island?," you should try words like "slave trade," "slavery," "triangle trade," "Rhode Island," or even specific Rhode Island towns like Newport).
JSTOR and the library's article search (click on article tab as pictured below) are likely to be great places to find scholarly articles (secondary sources) for this assignment.
- America: History & Life with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Provides journal articles on the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. 1955-present.
- Historical Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Indexing and full-text from history journals, book chapters, dissertations. Covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 forward.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowAn archive of full-text academic journals and ebooks from the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Now also includes the image database ArtStor. Journals in JSTOR have an embargo, which means that most journals do not include the most recent approximately 3 to 5 years of issues.
- Proquest One Academic This link opens in a new window
Search all Proquest content at one time. Includes Academic Video Online, Proquest Central, Proquest Dissertations & Theses Global, and Proquest Ebook Central.
- Slavery in America and the World: History, Culture & Law This link opens in a new windowAll known law related materials on slavery in the United States and the English-speaking world. This includes every statute passed by every colony and state on slavery, every federal statute dealing with slavery, and all reported state and federal cases on slavery.
Google Scholar
You can also use Google Scholar (one of Google's special tools) to find peer-reviewed, scholarly articles.
Optimize your use of Google Scholar by linking it to the library. This allows Google Scholar to also search for the full-text of articles in the library's databases. See below for instructions of how to do this.
1. Go to Google Scholar and select the three-line button that is to the left of the logo on the top left of the screen. Select "Settings."
2. Go to library links, and search for Salve Regina University in the search box. Make sure to click the box for Salve Regina University and save your settings.
*Note: Google Scholar will not provide you with the same refining feature options that the library databases do.
Ask-A-Librarian
Need research assistance?
Click to Meet with a Librarian
Contact the library:
Call us at 401-341-2289
Email us at salvelibrarian@salve.edu
Chat with us from any library web page
Visit us at the information desk
Find us in the staff directory