Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

RTS-364: Understanding the Hebrew Scriptures (Wray): Home

Research guide for Understanding the Hebrew Scriptures

I Want To...

Find Books

Find Books
  • Search for books and ebooks in the library catalog
  • Find reference books in the library
  • Limit search to Salve only, or search and request books from 11 academic libraries (HELIN)
  • Use WorldCat to find books from libraries worldwide
  • more...    
   

Find Articles

Find Articles
  • JSTOR
  • Academic Search Complete
  • Humanities Full-Text
  • more . . .

    

Find Videos

Find Videos
  • Search for DVDs in the library catalog
  • Search for and access online streaming video
  • more...

     

Find Websites

Find Websites
  • Virtual Religion Index
  • BibleMap
  • EIKON Image Database for Biblical Studies
  • more . . .

     

Citing Sources

Cite My Sources
  • Refworks
  • EasyBib
  • Chicago Manual of Style Citation format
  • more...

     

Get Help

Learn How To
  • Find the full-text of an article
  • Evaluate sources
  • Find a journal
  • more...

     

Getting Started - Encyclopedias, Dictionaries, and Atlases

While Wikipedia is fun, it's not really the right kind of source for your research.  You need something that has been written and edited by professionals.

We have something that is just as easy to use: The Credo Reference collection.  This searches over 500 encyclopedias and dictionaries at the same time.  They are all the kinds of sources you could include in your bibliography, although since they are short entries, you wouldn't want to base an entire paper on them.  It includes titles such as the Atlas of the Bible and Who's who in the Old Testament.

You can also browse the collection by subjects, and even browse the contents within a single book.

Also, for this course, you definitely want to check out the Gale Virtual Reference Library. It has the Encyclopedia Judaica and the New Catholic Encyclopedia. Like the Credo Reference collection, there's a single search box at the top, and you can search everything in the collection at once. 

Just like Credo, you can browse the collection by subject, and then browse the contents of individual books.

 

Create a Concept Map

A concept map is a diagram that shows the relationships between topics. It may link a broad topic and its sub-topics, or show links between different topics. A concept map can help you quickly find information when you don't know exactly what to look for. The library's database, Credo Reference can make a concept map on your topic for you. Try it out!

Create a concept map for ...


The process of creating a concept map can also help you see the connections between topics and narrow your search down to a subtopic. To download blank concept mapping templates, visit MyMindMap.net or try bubbl.us.

Ask-A-Librarian

Need research assistance?
Click to Meet with a Librarian

Contact the library:
Call us at 401-341-2289
Email us at salvelibrarian@salve.edu
Chat with us from any library web page
Text us at 401-324-9542
Visit us at the information desk
Find us in the staff directory