Research and Instructional Services: Discipline-specific Research Skills

Library Liaison: Dawn Emsellem, dawn.emsellem@salve.edu

Depending on the needs of the course, topics may include:

• Understanding the news environment
• Evaluating sources on the open web
• Finding government data
• Finding and evaluating reports and data from think tanks 
• Legal resources including use of the legal databases Nexis Uni Academic Universe and Hein Online
• Journal articles on ADJ topics in databases such as Sage Premier or EBSCO Academic Search Complete
• Importance of law review articles and where to find them

Library Liaison: Regina Connolly, regina.connolly@salve.edu

Depending on the needs of the course, topics may include:

• Introductory tour of the Curriculum Resource Center 
• Juvenile fiction and literature searches
• General education research tools
• Journal articles on education topics in databases such as Education Full Text and ERIC

Library Liaison: Lisa Richter, elizabeth.richter@salve.edu

Depending on the requirements of the course, topics may include:

• Conducting a literature review
• Using advanced search capabilities in the library's article databases, Google, and Google Scholar
• Using articles and search tool options to find scholarly conversations on your topic
• Integrating a bibliographic citation manager such as RefWorks into your research workflow
• Research strategies and recommended research tools for specific research questions  

Library Liaison: Regina Connolly, regina.connolly@salve.edu

Depending on course assignments, topics may include:

• Other cultures through the library’s reference resources
• Other cultures using books and articles in databases such as EBSCO’s Academic Search Complete, JSTOR
• Other cultures through primary sources such as news, memoirs, and magazines
• Literary criticism and author biographies
• Foreign language news sources in Nexis-Uni and Google News

Library Liaison: Lisa Richter, elizabeth.richter@salve.edu

Depending on the needs of the course, topics may include:

• Using PsycINFO to locate primary source research articles and scholarly articles on psychology topics

Library Liaison: Dawn Emsellem, dawn.emsellem@salve.edu

Depending on the requirements of the course, topics may include: 

• Locating high-quality images of art, architecture, crafts, and textiles
• Utilizing ArtStor’s tools to view, present and manage images

Library Liaison: Regina Connolly, regina.connolly@salve.edu

Depending on the needs of the course, topics may include:

• Finding books and articles about authors
• Literary criticism
• Searching Gale Literary Sources and other relevant databases 

Library Liaison: Dawn Emsellem, dawn.emsellem@salve.edu

Depending on the requirements of the course, topics may include:

• Conducting a literature review
• Finding data in government and non-governmental sources
• Using advanced search capabilities in the library's article databases, Google, and Google Scholar
• Using articles and search tool options to find scholarly conversations on your topic
• Integrating a bibliographic citation manager such as RefWorks into your research workflow
• Research strategies and recommended research tools for specific research questions  

Library Liaison: Lisa Richter, elizabeth.richter@salve.edu

Depending on the needs of the course, topics may include:

• Finding articles in CINAHL, Ovid, PubMed Central and Science Direct
• Evaluating scholarly research articles on nursing and medical topics 

Library Liaison: Regina Connolly, regina.connolly@salve.edu

Depending on the needs of the course, topics may include:

• Research skills and terminology appropriate for the discipline, using our new database ATLA Religion
• Thematic topics may include the seven deadly sins, Biblical commentary, Apocrypha, Satan, as well as interdisciplinary topics such as religious views on medical ethics or war

Library Liaison: Gretchen Sotomayor, gretchen.sotomayor@salve.edu

Depending on the requirements of the course, topics may include:

• Conducting a literature review
• Research strategies and recommended research tools such as Philosopher's Index, ATLA Religion, Humanities Index, JSTOR
• Using advanced search capabilities in Google Scholar
• Using articles and search tool options to find scholarly conversations on your topic
• Integrating a bibliographic citation manager such as RefWorks into your research workflow

Library Liaison: Dawn Emsellem, dawn.emsellem@salve.edu

Depending on the requirements of the course, topics may include: 

• Company information in databases including NEXIS-Uni Academic Universe and Hoover’s  
• Industry information in First Research  
• Economics in EconLit
• Scholarly journal articles in EBSCO Business Source Premier
• Data research via databases Polling the Nations, Social Explorer, and Statista

Library Liaison: Gretchen Sotomayor, gretchen.sotomayor@salve.edu

Depending on the needs of the course, topics may include:

• Finding primary and secondary sources in library databases such as America’s Historical Newspapers, America: History & Life, and Historical Abstracts
• Digital collections and archives

Library Liaison: Gretchen Sotomayor, gretchen.sotomayor@salve.edu

Depending on course assignments, topics may include:

• Charting the progress of legislation through Congress
• Efficient use of online government resources
• Effective research using scholarly journal articles in EBSCO databases, Sage Journals Online, and Hein Online
• Finding primary resources in political science through the library’s catalogs, databases, and local archives
• Searching for news sources in LEXIS/NEXIS Academic Universe, New York Times Historical Access, and Google News

Library Liaison: Lisa Richter, elizabeth.richter@salve.edu

Depending on the needs of the course, topics may include:

• Distinguishing primary and secondary literature
• Finding primary research articles and scholarly review articles in PubMed, Science Direct and SciFinder
• A review of the primary literature in the field

Library Liaison: Lisa Richter, elizabeth.richter@salve.edu

Depending on the needs of the course, topics may include:

• Locate research articles from relevant databases such as PsychInfo, PsycArticles, Social Work Abstracts, CINAHL, & PubMed 
• Explore and evaluate information from Google Scholar, Government websites, and organizational websites for non-profit agencies