Research Guides: HIS-270 The Historian's Craft: Local Archives and Museums

Finding Archives, Libraries, and Other Cultural Heritage Institutions

This pages presents a selection of archives, libraries, and other cultural heritage institutions in Rhode Island. Newport resources are listed above while other Rhode Island resources are provided further down the page.

Remember that many archives have special guidelines for accessing and using their collections, often requiring visitors to make research appointments. Visit the websites, email the institutions, or call prior to your visit.

Newport Archives, Libraries, and Cultural Heritage Institutions

Ambassador John L. Loeb Jr. Visitors Center
Touro Synagogue is America's oldest synagogue and a national historic site.
Newport Art Museum
Contains a permanent collection of more than 2,300 works of American art, concentrating on art and artistic activity from the late 19th century to the present day.
Newport Historical Society
Collections document the history of Newport County, including nearly 10,000 objects, 12,000 books, over 1,500 linear feet of manuscript materials, and more than 200,000 photographs.
Newport Public Library
Contains published resources related to genealogy and local history. Also provides online access to historical photographs.
Newport Restoration Society
Holds information on historic home preservation, cultural heritage, environmental changes, as well as the fine and decorative arts collections found in local museums. Also holds the Rough Point Collection and the Whitehorne House Collection.
Redwood Library & Athenaeum
Collections include library, rare books, archives & manuscripts, and art & artifacts related to the history of Newport.
Salve Regina Archives and Special Collections
Documents the history and heritage of the institution, including administrative and departmental records, such as correspondence, reports, photographs, publications, yearbooks, as well as materials related to the student experience at the university.
U.S. Naval War College
Information and resources pertaining to regional naval history.

Other Rhode Island Archives, Libraries, and Cultural Heritage Institutions

Below is a small sample of Rhode Island cultural heritage institutions. For a more comprehensive list, check out Rhode Island Historical Records Advisory Board's Rhode Island Historical Records Repositories Directory, the first link in the list below.

Rhode Island Historical Records Repositories Directory
A list of over a hundred cultural heritage institutions across Rhode Island. Each listing provides a hyperlink to the organization's website.
Brown University Archives
Contains resources related to the history of Brown University.
City Archives (Providence)
"Nearly 40,000 cubic feet of records detail all aspects of the development and operation of municipal government" in Providence.
John Hay Library (Brown University)
Contains over 3 million artifacts including Babylonian clay tablets, Egyptian papyri, current-day books, manuscripts, monographs, and photographs.
Johnson and Wales University, Culinary Archives and Museum
Contains over 200,000 artifacts, of which over 30,000 are cookbooks.
Pembroke Center Archives
Contains records related to the history of women at Pembroke College, Brown University, and in Rhode Island.
Providence College Library Archives
Various 20th century primary and secondary sources related to the history of the college and Rhode Island.
Providence Public Library Special Collections
"Home to tens of thousands of historic books, manuscripts, photographs, ephemera, maps and other artifacts representing over four thousand years of human history and culture from around the world."
Rhode Island Historical Society
State-wide history organization with 25,000 objects, 5,000 manuscripts, 100,000 books and printed items, 400,000 photographs and maps, and 9 million feet of motion-picture film.
Rhode Island School of Design Archives
"RISD’s Archives collects, preserves and provides access to records and artifacts, including photographs and publications that document the history and development of RISD programs, policies and procedures and contributions of individuals and organizations associated with the School and Museum."
Rhode Island State Archives
"The State Archives is home to millions of letters, photographs, and important state documents that form a permanent, tangible record of Rhode Island’s rich history."
South County History Center
"Preserves and interprets the material culture of South County through exhibits and study of archival, library and artifact collections."
University of Rhode Island Distinctive Collections
Includes materials relevant to the history of URI as well as other political papers, correspondence, oral histories, and more.