Understanding Educational Technology
Welcome! In this guide you will find information designed to help you understand how to use and manage technology in your classroom to effectively build connections, facilitate learning, and enhance student performance.
Educational technology has been defined as "the study and ethical practice of facilitating learning and improving performance by creating, using, and managing appropriate technological processes and resources."1
It encompasses a variety of aspects and fields that include technological tools and media, educational theory and pedagogy, learning management systems, online learning, instructional technology, multimedia learning, virtual learning environments, and computer-based training. Additionally, educational technology can be applied to blended, face-to-face, or online learning environments.
American Association of School Librarians
Each year, the AASL recognizes the exemplary apps to use for teaching and learning. Learn more at their website below.
Ebooks on Educational Technology
Check out these ebooks to learn more about current methods and practices for integrating educational technology in the classroom.
Infusing technology in the K-5 classroom : a guide to meeting today's academic standards by Publication Date: 2019Perhaps your district provides current technology development for staff on a regular basis and has instructional coaches to help teachers infuse technology into their curriculum to meet various academic standards. But in reality, most districts don’t have this kind of support. In this book (the first in a two-book series), you’ll learn how to shift your instructional practice and leverage technology to meet today’s curriculum education standards for grades K-5. This book doesn’t cover every K-5 national standard, but identifies the standards with a technology component and provides resources and lessons to help you teach those standards effectively.
Infusing technology in the 6-12 classroom : a guide to meeting today's academic standards by Publication Date: 2019Perhaps your district provides current technology development for staff on a regular basis and has instructional coaches to help teachers infuse technology into their curriculum to meet various academic standards. But in reality, most districts don’t have this kind of support. In this book (the second in a two-book series), you’ll learn how to shift your instructional practice and leverage technology to meet today’s curriculum education standards for grades 6-12. This book doesn’t cover every 6-12 national standard, but identifies the standards with a technology component and provides resources and lessons to help you teach those standards effectively.
Remixing the Curriculum by Publication Date: 2018Remixing the Curriculum suggests that the way to develop curriculum to maximize student access and engagement is to employ essential elements of traditional pedagogy, but infuse it with technology to create new features through the Technology Fitness, Proactive Teaching, Universal Design for Learning, and Assistive Technology.
Closing the gap : digital equity strategies for the K-12 classroom by Publication Date: 2019"Closing the Gap: Digital Equity Strategies for the K-12 Classroom includes: examination of digital equity and the "problem of practice" for teachers and coaches; strategies for connecting the ISTE Educator and Student Standards to practice; discussion of key challenges facing teachers in today's classrooms, such as access, connectivity, limited resources, digital divide, and the homework gap; research-based vignettes from teachers who have encountered and conquered some of the challenges addressed in the book, and from edtech coaches who have implemented equity-centered innovative professional development; and concrete, evidence-based strategies for teachers"-- Provided by publisher.
Power up your classroom : reimagine learning through gameplay by Publication Date: 2019By the time Lindsey Blass and Cate Tolnai’s paths crossed, both had taken a path from teacher to coach to central/county office roles focused on innovative learning design, all while noticing three trends that extended beyond their classrooms: students who weren’t able to own and connect to their learning experience became disengaged; students and teachers alike had a general fear of failure; and teachers were perplexed at how to design learning experiences that fostered student choice and celebrated failure as an opportunity for iteration.
Together, they began to ask … what if? What if we designed learning experiences that leveraged the power of gameplay to create more motivated learners? What if we modeled this type of learning with educators so they could experience the impact firsthand and spread the excitement and innovation in their classrooms? What if learning was fun for both students and teachers?
Print Books on Educational Technology
Visit the Curriculum Resource Center on the second floor of McKillop Library to locate these resources that focus on research, methods, and practice in educational technology.
The I5 Approach: Lesson Planning that Teaches Thinking and Fosters Innovation by Call Number: CRC Collection LB1590.3 .P657 2018Publication Date: 2017If the three r's define education's past, there are five i's—information, images, interaction, inquiry, and innovation—that forecast its future, one in which students think for themselves, actively self-assess, and enthusiastically use technology to further their learning and contribute to the world....The i5 approach provides a way to develop these skills in the context of content-focused and technology-powered lessons that give students the opportunity to engage with information in a variety of formats. (Amazon)
Tasks Before Apps by Call Number: CRC Collection LB1028.5 .B8745 2018Publication Date: 2017Educator and technology consultant Monica Burns shares strategies, tools, and insights that all teachers can use to effectively incorporate technology in the classroom.
Technology and Digital Media in the Early Years by Call Number: CRC Collection LB1139.35.C64 T38 2015Publication Date: 2014"A Co-Publication of Routledge and NAEYCTechnology and Digital Media in the Early Years offers early childhood teacher educators, professional development providers, and early childhood educators in pre-service, in-service, and continuing education settings a thought-provoking guide to effective, appropriate, and intentional use of technology with young children. This book provides strategies, theoretical frameworks, links to research evidence, descriptions of best practice, and resources to develop essential digital literacy knowledge, skills and experiences for early childhood educators in the digital age." (Publisher)
Tech with Heart by Publication Date: 2019Bring a Higher Level of Compassion to Your Teaching Academic-related anxiety is common in high-achieving and struggling classrooms alike. So how can teachers calm students' fears and empower them as learners? Educator Stacey Roshan found the answer with technology. In Tech with Heart, Stacey shares that the fight to be first, the pressure to be right, and the stress surrounding test scores were just a few of the many reasons she chose to flip her class. Creating interactive video lessons for students to watch at home and shifting in-class time to focus on student needs, discussion, and collaborative practice allows you to . . . Create more time for one-on-one interaction with students. Quickly see where students are struggling. Give all students (even introverts and those who need more time to process) the opportunity to share their voice and show their learning. Using technology in the classroom isn't just about automation Tech with Heart shows you how to use edtech tools to humanize modern learning and help all learners to thrive.
Digital Citizenship by Publication Date: 2019Being a good digital citizen means to be an ethical and responsible member of the online community. Digital citizenship is the practice and teaching to help individuals, particularly young people, know how to navigate, create, communicate and protect themselves online. As more and more technology is used in personal lives and schools, the need for digital citizenship grows. Digital Citizenship: Research and Practice from the Field provides research-based strategies that can help any educator working with technology and youth. Through experience and data collected by teaching in-depth digital citizenship classes with K-12 students, special populations and educator trainings, this book can provide real-life advice on what works, and what doesn't. The models and advice in this title are based on prevention science. Prevention Science is the application of scientific method to prevent dysfunctional human behavior before it even starts. In addition, this book will give its readers worksheets, activity sheets, lesson plans and assessment tools for implementing digital citizenship instruction in their organization. Digital citizenship is a growing, multi-faceted, interdisciplinary subject in need of research and practical and applicable advice. This book brings together past studies, independent research and knowledge from other disciplines to provide solutions.
Game On! by Publication Date: 2017Helping teachers take advantage of game design principles and intrinsic motivators to build more effective courses. The changing student body in American higher education demands a new approach to teaching, one that moves toward inclusive, hyperpersonalized learning environments that have much in common with games and social media. Kevin Bell's Game On!presents dynamic case studies of gamer educators and game-derived techniques to help instructors creatively formulate their own teaching strategies. Breaking gamefully designed classes into their component parts, Bell analyzes what these classes are actually doing and explains why they work. He offers faculty a rubric to assess their own courses for their propensity to engage students, particularly those from low socioeconomic and high-risk populations. Bell explores how game design, pedagogy, and intrinsic motivators can level the playing field to produce rigorous learning environments that are as addictive to all participants as the latest apps and social media systems. He also discusses best practices, lays out the broader context of computer-mediated teaching and learning, and considers the challenges and opportunities that gamification presents. Instructors would do well to consider the key tenets of successful games if they are to engage and graduate the coming generations of learners. Bell's careful analysis of the theories behind gamification, cognitive science, and instructional design will help them to do just that.
Search by Subject Term in the Library Catalog
Once you've found a book or two that appears to meet your needs, you can browse their subject terms (listed under "Subjects" in the Description section of the catalog record) to determine what vocabulary is being used to classify books that you're interested in. Select a hyperlinked subject to do a subject search, which tends to be more precise than a keyword search. Try one of the following subject searches:
Follow Us on Pinterest
Browse new books and themed collections on our Pinterest board!
Off-Campus Access
To access databases, ebooks, or other library resources from off-campus, you will be asked to enter the following information:
- your Salve email-- and
- your password (same as Salve email password)
- More...
About this Guide
References
Robinson, R., Molenda, M., & Rezabek, L. (2013). Facilitating learning. In A. Januscewski & M. Molenda (Eds.), Educational technology (pp. 15-48). Florence: Taylor and Francis.
Educational Technology was created by Alicia Vaandering at Salve Regina University's McKillop Library in 2018. It is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License. Please feel free to use, share, and remix with attribution.