Theatre Research Guide: Find Websites

The Providence Department of Art, Culture + Tourism (AC+T) ensures the continued development of a vibrant and creative city by integrating arts and culture into community life while showcasing Providence as an international cultural destination

Dynamic collection of resources on the performing arts from digital hubs, libraries, museums, and archives.

A comprehensive database of shows produced on Broadway, including all "title page" information about each production.

THE KILROYS are "a collective of playwrights, directors and producers in LA and NYC who are done talking about gender parity and are taking action. "

Lists off-Broadway productions from the beginning to the present.

Vast collections of materials in print, photographs, video, oral history.

On multiple platforms, NYC-ARTS aims to increase awareness of New York City’s nonprofit cultural organizations, whose offerings greatly benefit residents and visitors—from children to adults, and teenagers to senior citizens.

News, features, performance listings for Broadway, Off-Broadway, London, and Regional theatre. Buy discount theatre tickets.

TDF, is a not-for-profit organization that works to sustain live theatre and dance by engaging and cultivating a broad and diverse audience and eliminating barriers to attendance. Use this link to see what is currently on stage in NYC.

A multimedia anthology selected from various Library of Congress holdings. This collection illustrates the vibrant and diverse forms of popular entertainment, especially vaudeville, which thrived from 1870-1920.

This online presentation includes over 13,000 images of items selected from the Federal Theatre Project Collection at the Library of Congress. Featured here are stage and costume designs, still photographs, posters, and scripts for productions of MacBeth and The Tragical History of Dr. Faustus as staged by Orson Welles, and for Power, a topical drama of the period (over 3,000 images). Also included are 68 other playscripts (6,500 images) and 168 documents selected from the Federal Theatre Project Administrative Records (3,700 images).

A website of the New York Public Library for the Performing Arts. Original documents, including photographs, recorded sound and film, from the Broadway theatre and Tin Pan Alley to the art of the individual performers and composers.

An English-language publication about the Greek and Roman drama, dance, and music as they are performed today. The name Didaskalia is taken from the inscriptions used to record the outcomes of drama and music festivals in Athens.

For the benefit of those who study and/or make costumes: costumers, students, historical re-enactors, science fiction fans, professionals, amateurs, dancers, theatrical costumers, trick-or-treaters, writers, researchers, and all those interested in fashion, textile art, and costume history. Patterns and instructions available through the site.

The Manifesto is an educational costume site for researching shows, school papers, and places to buy materials. It includes a full online college level course, History of Fashion and Dress. Useful if you want specific information about creating costumes from a particular period or type.

Established in 1967, RISCA is charged by the state legislature to stimulate public interest and participation in the arts and to serve as the liaison to the state arts community.

Provides dance information including performances, lessons, stores, and social dancing.

The DHC is a national alliance of institutions holding significant collections of materials documenting the history of dance. Its mission is to preserve, make accessible, enhance and augment the materials that document the artistic accomplishments in dance of the past, present, and future.

Established in 1982 as the national service organization for the professional dance field, Dance/USA is a membership organization currently serving nearly 500 aerial, ballet, modern, culturally specific, jazz, and tap companies, dance service and presenting organizations, individuals, and related organizations. Dance/USA occupies a unique position in the field as the only national service organization dedicated to serving a broad cross-section of professional dance.

The ITA promotes the understanding, preservation, and development of tap dance as an art form.

CyberDance is an extensive internet dance database containing thousands of links to classical
ballet and modern dance resources on the Internet.