Find Articles in Journals and Newspapers
You'll find several useful tools in this section. McKillop Library subscribes to dozens of article databases. If you have a topic in mind, begin with a keyword search from a pre-selected list of databases.
The next section has a list of discipline-specific databases that may have articles on biomedical ethics topics. Each database looks a bit different, but you will find that keyword searching works essentially the same.
If you are looking for articles from the New York Times, go to the page, Access the New York Times Online for instructions to set up an account, first. Then you can locate articles by keyword, or if your professor has a specific article for you to read, you can search by title.
Begin with a General Article Search
Search for Articles from Specialized Databases
Read the description on the databases below to learn which discipline or subject area they cover.
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
A large multidisciplinary database providing articles from scholarly journals and magazines.
- ATLA Religion This link opens in a new window
Provides indexing and articles from religion and theology journals.
- General Science Full Text This link opens in a new window
Includes full-text and abstracting/indexing of scientific publications. 1984 to the present.
- PsycArticles This link opens in a new window
Contains full-text articles from journals published by American Psychological Association and allied organizations. Coverage includes general psychology and specialized basic, applied, clinical, and theoretical research in psychology.
- PsycInfo This link opens in a new window
Indexes psychology-related journal articles, book chapters, books, and technical reports.
- PubMed This link opens in a new windowIndexes life sciences, medical, and nursing journals. Look for the “Find @ Salve” button on article-level results pages to check for full-text from Salve's e-journal subscriptions.
- Sage Journals This link opens in a new windowIncludes over 1,100 full-text journals with coverage of a wide range of subject areas, as well as journals published on behalf of over 500 scholarly and professional societies. 1999 to present.
- ScienceDirect This link opens in a new windowProvides full-text scholarly journals in science, nursing, and medicine. 1995-present.
- Social Science Full Text This link opens in a new window
Provides articles from social science journals.
Finding Resources
1. Books
2. Articles
*Note: Although the steps to research and writing are presented here as a linear progression in which you start at one point and follow consecutive steps until you reach the end, the research and writing process is much more iterative in reality. Make sure to reflect frequently on where you're at with your research and writing, and feel free to skip sections or return to previous ones as needed.