Using Books for College Research
- Books provide in-depth coverage of a topic
- Books often provide valuable background information, which can help you to understand new issues pertaining to the topic
- Books can lead you to other relevant sources through their bibliographies
Books from the Library Catalog and Beyond
Selected Book Titles to Support Your Research
#HashtagActivism by
This "well-researched, nuanced" study of the rise of social media activism explores how marginalized groups use Twitter to advance counter-narratives, preempt political spin, and build diverse networks of dissent (Ms.) The power of hashtag activism became clear in 2011, when #IranElection served as an organizing tool for Iranians protesting a disputed election and offered a global audience a front-row seat to a nascent revolution. Since then, activists have used a variety of hashtags, including #JusticeForTrayvon, #BlackLivesMatter, #YesAllWomen, and #MeToo to advocate, mobilize, and communicate. In this book, Sarah Jackson, Moya Bailey, and Brooke Foucault Welles explore how and why Twitter has become an important platform for historically disenfranchised populations, including Black Americans, women, and transgender people. They show how marginalized groups, long excluded from elite media spaces, have used Twitter hashtags to advance counternarratives, preempt political spin, and build diverse networks of dissent. The authors describe how such hashtags as #MeToo, #SurvivorPrivilege, and #WhyIStayed have challenged the conventional understanding of gendered violence; examine the voices and narratives of Black feminism enabled by #FastTailedGirls, #YouOKSis, and #SayHerName; and explore the creation and use of #GirlsLikeUs, a network of transgender women. They investigate the digital signatures of the "new civil rights movement"-the online activism, storytelling, and strategy-building that set the stage for #BlackLivesMatter-and recount the spread of racial justice hashtags after the killing of Michael Brown in Ferguson, Missouri, and other high-profile incidents of killings by police. Finally, they consider hashtag created by allies, including #AllMenCan and #CrimingWhileWhite.
Call Number: Main Collection P302.37 .J35 2020ISBN: 9780262043373Publication Date: 2020-03-10
Career and Family by
A renowned economic historian traces women's journey to close the gender wage gap and sheds new light on the continued struggle to achieve equity between couples at home A century ago, it was a given that a woman with a college degree had to choose between having a career and a family. Today, there are more female college graduates than ever before, and more women want to have a career and family, yet challenges persist at work and at home. This book traces how generations of women have responded to the problem of balancing career and family as the twentieth century experienced a sea change in gender equality, revealing why true equity for dual career couples remains frustratingly out of reach. Drawing on decades of her own groundbreaking research, Claudia Goldin provides a fresh, in-depth look at the diverse experiences of college-educated women from the 1900s to today, examining the aspirations they formed--and the barriers they faced--in terms of career, job, marriage, and children. She shows how many professions are "greedy," paying disproportionately more for long hours and weekend work, and how this perpetuates disparities between women and men. Goldin demonstrates how the era of COVID-19 has severely hindered women's advancement, yet how the growth of remote and flexible work may be the pandemic's silver lining. Antidiscrimination laws and unbiased managers, while valuable, are not enough. Career and Family explains why we must make fundamental changes to the way we work and how we value caregiving if we are ever to achieve gender equality and couple equity.
Call Number: Main Collection HD6061.2.U6 G65 2021ISBN: 9780691201788Publication Date: 2021-10-12
Gender Violence, 3rd Edition by
An updated edition of the groundbreaking anthology that explores the proliferation of gendered violence From Harvey Weinstein to Brett Kavanaugh, accusations of gender violence saturate today's headlines. In this fully revised edition of Gender Violence, Laura L. O'Toole, Jessica R. Schiffman, and Rosemary Sullivan bring together a new, interdisciplinary group of scholars, with up-to-date material on emerging issues like workplace harassment, transgender violence, intersectionality, and the #MeToo movement. Contributors provide a fresh, informed perspective on gender violence, in all of its various forms. With twenty-nine new contributors, and twelve original essays, the third edition now includes emerging contemporary issues such as LGBTQ violence, sex work, and toxic masculinity. A trailblazing text, Gender Violence, Third Edition is an essential read for students, activists, and others.
Call Number: Main Collection HV6250.4.W65 G48 2020ISBN: 9781479843923Publication Date: 2020-07-14
The Gender Wage Gap by
The Gender Wage Gap covers the history of women's wages, the differences between men's and women's wages that still exist, and today's efforts to close the gap. Aligned to Common Core Standards and correlated to state standards. Essential Library is an imprint of Abdo Publishing, a division of ABDO.
ISBN: 9781624023187Publication Date: 2016-12-15
No Slam Dunk by
In just a few decades, sport has undergone a radical gender transformation. However, Cheryl Cooky and Michael A. Messner suggest that the progress toward gender equity in sports is far from complete. The continuing barriers to full and equal participation for young people, the far lower pay for most elite-level women athletes, and the continuing dearth of fair and equal media coverage all underline how much still has yet to change before we see gender equality in sports. The chapters in No Slam Dunk show that is this not simply a story of an "unfinished revolution." Rather, they contend, it is simplistic optimism to assume that we are currently nearing the conclusion of a story of linear progress that ends with a certain future of equality and justice. This book provides important theoretical and empirical insights into the contemporary world of sports to help explain the unevenness of social change and how, despite significant progress, gender equality in sports has been "No Slam Dunk."
ISBN: 9780813592060Publication Date: 2018-05-30
Pediatric Collections: Social Determinants of Health: Part 2: Effects of Inequity by
Pediatric Collections offers what you need to know - original, focused research in a snapshot approach. Youths who are negatively affected by social determinants of health suffer adverse effects like increased risks of chronic health conditions and mental health issues. Part 2 of this series describes the adverse effects social determinants of health can have on vulnerable children around the world. The impact of social determinants such as racism, discrimination, poverty, and limited access to care can lead to adverse effects such as poor mental health, diabetes, heart disease, substance abuse, complications during childbirth, suicide, and unexpected death. This collection describes the ways in which these social determinants can produce negative outcomes for children in the present and future.
ISBN: 9781610026376Publication Date: 2022-04-29
SAGE Guide to Social Work Careers by
The SAGE Guide to Social Work Careers presents first-hand stories from practitioners to help inform, inspire, and guide students to become advocates for social justice issues. With a unique focus on advocacy and social justice, the book covers fundamentals of the social work profession--from coalition building to advocacy engagement and stakeholder outreach--across a range of practice areas, such as mental health, substance abuse, and criminal justice. Students in BSW and MSW programs will gain practical knowledge that will prepare them to successfully navigate their way to a rewarding career. Bundle and Save Bundle the SAGE Guide to Social Work Careers with any SAGE Social Work text for only $5 more! Contact your rep for more information. Also of Interest Introduction to Social Work: An Advocacy-Based Profession, Second Edition: Takes students to the roots of the social work profession by covering its history, practice settings, and career paths within a unique advocacy framework. Bundle the SAGE Career Guide to Social Work Careers with Introduction to Social Work using bundle ISBN 978-1-5443-3029-7.
Call Number: Main Collection HV10.5 .B57 2019ISBN: 9781544324715Publication Date: 2018-04-06
Stand up and Shout Out by
Today, women have greater opportunities to participate in sport than ever before, particularly due to the passage of Title IX in 1972. Yet, despite all this growth, women still struggle to hold leadership positions, become coaches of both girls and boys teams, receive equal pay, and get even adequate coverage in the media. In Stand Up and Shout Out: Women's Fight for Equality in Sports, Joan Steidinger explores the three crucial areas in sport that remain huge concerns for women: leadership, money, and media. Steidinger looks at the number of ways in which women experience vast inequalities by examining topics such as the politics of sport, sexual assault, the #MeToo movement, pay equity, women in coaching positions, and the experiences of women of color and LGBTQ athletes. Interviews with leading authorities in the field and prominent female athletes are interwoven throughout to add both expert and personal perspectives to the conversation. Stand Up and Shout Out does more than just inform readers about these important issues; its purpose is to create enlightened discussions around the unequal treatment of women and present readers with "action steps" so we can all become active contributors toward improving this situation. This is an ideal time to fight for women's equality in sport, as it draws attention to the growing need for advocacy for girls and women around the world in all areas of life.
Call Number: Main Collection GV709 .S744 2020ISBN: 9781538125977Publication Date: 2020-03-11
Street Homelessness and Catholic Theological Ethics by
Spanning five continents this collection will deepen contemporary understandings of, and approaches to, Catholic theological ethics and the global crisis of homelessness. Topics include global strategies for combating homelessness, local ethical responses, and advocacy for special populations such as women, orphans, and veterans.
ISBN: 9781626983441Publication Date: 2019-11-21
Using Articles for College Research
- Academic journal articles are often authored by scholars and/or professionals active in a particular field
- Academic journal articles can be primary or secondary sources, depending on their purpose
- Scholarly articles provide a close look at a very specific topic, using data to support research findings
- Journal articles can lead you to other relevant sources through their bibliographies
Find Articles in Select Ebscohost Databases...
Data Sources and Publications
- Statista This link opens in a new windowIncludes a range of statistics and reports related to marketing and business. Provides consumer outlook surveys, industry reports, country reports, market studies, and company information.