Salve Regina's University Archives document the history and heritage of the institution. The collections include administrative and departmental records, such as correspondence, reports, photographs, publications, yearbooks, as well as materials related to the student experience at the university.
Collection Highlights
Salve Regina Student History Collections
Salve Regina Faculty History Collections
Salve Regina Photographs (digital)
Salve Regina Audiovisual Collection (digital)
Salve Regina Oral Histories (digital)
Salve Regina University Faculty Assembly Records (digital)
Guide to the Brother Eugene Lappin, FSC Papers (finding aid)
Guide to the Sister Ann Nelson Papers (finding aid)
Guide to the Anthony Walsh Papers (finding aid)
Salve Regina Administrative History Collections
Salve Regina Presidents
Mother Mary Matthew Doyle Papers, 1947-1948 (digital)
Guide to the Mother Mary Matthew Doyle Papers, 1947-1948 (finding aid)
Guide to the Mother Mary Hilda Miley Papers, 1948-1964 (finding aid)
Guide to the Sister Mary Emily Shanley Papers, 1964-1968 (finding aid)
Guide to the Sister Mary Christopher O'Rourke Papers, 1968-1973 (finding aid)
Guide to the Sister Lucille McKillop Papers, 1973-1994 (finding aid)
Salve Regina University Properties & Grounds Collections (digital)
Guide to the Salve Regina Properties Collection (finding aid)
Guide to the Salve Regina Properties Photographs (finding aid)
Guide to the Jean Brown Papers on the William Watts Sherman House (finding aid)
Salve Regina Arboretum Collection (digital)
Guide to the Salve Landscapes and Trees: Tree Survey (finding aid)
Christopher Kiernan Papers (finding aid)
Materials related to the life and teaching of Christopher Kiernan, faculty member and administrator at Salve Regina from 1980-2009.
Kate Sullivan Collection on the Nursing Program at the Universidad Autonoma de Honduras (finding aid)
Oral history with Catherine "Kate" Sullivan regarding her work on the nursing program at Universidad Nacional Autonoma de Honduras, with supporting objects, documents, and correspondence.
Office of the Vice President of Administrative Services and Community Relations, Thomas Flanagan (finding aid)
Papers of the administration of Thomas Flanagan as the Vice President of Administrative Services and Community relations from 1992-2003.
Salve Class of 1968 Legacy Project (digital)
The Salve Regina College Class of 1968 began this Legacy Project for their fiftieth-anniversary Reunion Weekend in 2018, gathering reflections, photographs, and information about graduates.
Salve Regina Catalogs (digital)
Graduate and undergraduate catalogs, with lists of faculty and administrators, descriptions of campus, programs and courses offered, the academic calendar, and some photos.
Salve Regina University Nature Cabinet Collection (digital)
The Nature Cabinet is a natural history collection and innovative resource center on the campus of Salve Regina University in Newport, Rhode Island, dedicated to the study of the natural world. Founded in 2018, it is curated by the students and faculty of the Art and Art History Department.
Salve Regina University Nature Cabinet Project
Salve Student Unrest Papers, 1969-1973 (digital)
Between 1969 and 1973, students at Salve Regina College petitioned and agitated for greater control of their rights and self-governance on campus. A major goal of their activism was changing the College's parietal rights so that students in individual dormitories could collectively create and enforce their own rules rather than the College. The students also expressed contemporary concerns related to the Vietnam War and Kent State shootings. This collection includes correspondence, memoranda, notes, meeting minutes, and other materials created by students and student organizations as well as faculty and administrators.
Guide to the Salve Student Unrest Papers (finding aid)
Sister Eugena Poulin Papers (finding aid)
Drafts of several of Sister Eugena Poulin's publications on her family history and the history of women in New France, as well as collected biographical information, materials from attended events, and press.
Sister Mary Venard Papers (finding aid)
Correspondence and personal papers of Sister Mary Venard, RSM. Much of the correspondence is from Sister Hwa, a Salve Regina alumna who founded a convent in Taiwan.
Sister Sheila Megley Papers (finding aid)
Correspondence, memorandum, logs, and requisitions as Provost/Executive Vice President and Vice President and Academic Dean.
Salve Regina University's Special Collections consist of rare books and discrete collections from outside the university, containing items that have significance to the university, its individuals, and its programs. The collections include rare and special books as well as periodicals, pamphlets, ephemera, and manuscripts. Some collecting concentrations are faculty publications, material related to Newport and our Gilded Age mansions, and books related to the Religious Sisters of Mercy, our founding order.
Collection Highlights
Goelet Family Papers (digital)
Financial records and correspondence of Ogden Goelet and his family members, including his brother and his son, both named Robert. Much of the material relates to the family's real estate holdings in New York City and Ogden's Newport residence, Ochre Court.
Guide to the Goelet Family Papers (finding aid)
Guide to the Goelet Furnishings Collection (finding aid)Howard Saalman and Jeanne Farr Saalman Papers (finding aid)
Research papers, sources, and personal materials related to the career of architectural historian Dr. Howard Saalman and his wife, Jeanne Farr Saalman.
Hugh D. Auchincloss Middle East Book Collection (catalog)
Donated by Hugh D. Auchincloss, a collection of books, serials, pamphlets and ephemera on the Middle East that he collected from the time he was a student until he retired from an active public career.
Guide to the Hugh D. Auchincloss Papers (finding aid)
Johannes von Gumppenberg Collection (digital)
Artistic explorations, illustrations, paintings, and graphic design by German-American artist Johannes von Gumppenberg.
Johannes von Gumppenberg Books (digital)
Monumenta Collections (digital)
Articles, photographs, exhibit labels, an interview transcript, and other records documenting Monumenta, the major outdoor modern art exhibition in Newport in 1974.
Guide to the Monumenta Collection (finding aid)
Guide to the Crimmins Papers and Photos on Monumenta (finding aid)
Noreen Stoner Drexel Collection (digital)
Materials created by and about Noreen Stonor Drexel, as well as gathered by her in her social and philanthropic life.
Guide to the Noreen Stoner Drexel Collection (finding aid)
Patrick Murphy Collection on St. Augustin's Church and School (digital)
Research files and materials compiled by Patrick Murphy about St. Augustin's Church and St. Augustin's School in Newport, including publications and programs, photographs of students and school activities, operational documents, and an extensive, indexed range of newspaper clipping copies referencing the church and school.
Guide to the Patrick Murphy Collection on St. Augustin's Church and School (finding aid)
South Kingstown Colonial Records (digital)
Volumes of records from the Town Clerk’s Office in South Kingstown, Rhode Island, dating back to the late 17th century and chronicling the social relations and material culture of the early American town, including probate records that reference enslaved people who were assigned value and treated as property. In 2018, Salve Regina University Archives and Special Collections began the Documenting Slavery Project to digitize, describe, and publish these town records, which serve as evidence of how slavery was conceived of, recorded, and carried out in colonial Rhode Island. This collection is maintained by Salve Regina University and their description was made possible with support from the Rhode Island Foundation. These materials contain offensive and harmful racial terms and content.
Stephen R. Pastore Collection on Sinclair Lewis (catalog)
Donated by Stephen R. Pastore, an exhaustive collection of the Nobel Prize-winning American author's books, as well as articles, correspondence, scripts, recordings, and ephemera related to his work.
Guide to the Stephen R. Pastore Collection on Sinclair Lewis (finding aid)
Taplin Collection (catalog)
More than 500 vinyl and audio recordings donated by Winn and Ellajean Taplin.
Whitaker Collection (catalog)
More than 15,000 vinyl recordings of jazz, classical, and contemporary music from the collection of Russell C. Whitaker (d.1992.)
Guide to the Whitaker Collection (finding aid)
Winslow Family Papers (digital)
Donated in 2009 by Newport resident John G. Winslow, a majority of the papers are correspondence between Winslow's ancestor Henry Brevoort, Jr. and his children in the 1830s, who were attending an experimental school in Switzerland. The collection includes many other notable pieces, including documents signed by Alexander Hamilton, painter Rembrandt Peale, author James Fenimore Cooper, and Charles Carroll of Carrolton, last surviving signer of the Declaration of Independence.
Guide to the Winslow Family Papers (finding aid)
Salve Regina University's Digital Collections
Salve History Digital Collections
Mother Mary Matthew Doyle Papers, 1947-1948
This collection contains biographical information and correspondence relating to Mother Mary Matthew Doyle, first President of Salve Regina University, 1947-1948. The finding aid for this collection is available in RIAMCO.
Guide to the Mother Mary Matthew Doyle Papers, 1947-1948 (finding aid)
Regina Maris Yearbooks
Regina Maris, Latin for "Queen of the Sea", was Salve Regina's yearbook, published annually from 1951 to 2004.
Salve Class of 1968 Legacy Project
The Salve Regina College Class of 1968 began this Legacy Project for their fiftieth-anniversary Reunion Weekend in 2018, gathering reflections, photographs, and information about graduates.
Salve Regina Arboretum Collection
Tree survey photographs and other materials from University Archives related to Salve Regina University's arboretum and landscapes.
Salve Regina Grounds Collection (digital)
Salve Landscapes and Trees: Tree Survey (finding aid)Salve Regina Catalogs
Graduate and undergraduate catalogs, with lists of faculty and administrators, descriptions of campus, programs and courses offered, the academic calendar, and some photos.
Salve Regina New Student Record/Register
The New Student Record, or New Student Register, was distributed to the incoming class as a way of introducing new students to each other. The booklet includes photographs of students and their basic biographical information, as well as information about student activities and photographs of campus.
Salve Regina Oral Histories
Salve Regina Memory is an oral history project featuring alumni and other members of the university community. Interviews range in length from 10 minutes to an hour and include stories about the student experience, professors and administrators, social life, and careers. The project was launched by the University Archivist at the 2008 Alumni Weekend and continues primarily during reunions.
Beginning in 2017, students from the Departments of History and Cultural and Historic Preservation have been conducting oral history interviews with alumni, current and former faculty and administrators.
Salve Regina Student Newspapers
Ebb Tide, The Cygnet, and The Nautilus, from 1947 to the 1980s.
Salve Regina University Nature Cabinet Collection
The Nature Cabinet is a natural history collection and innovative resource center on the campus of Salve Regina University in Newport, Rhode Island, dedicated to the study of the natural world. Founded in 2018, it is curated by the students and faculty of the Art and Art History Department.
Salve Regina University Nature Cabinet Project
Salve Regina University Newsbulletin
A newsletter published by Salve Regina College from 1973 to 1991 on a weekly, biweekly, or occasional basis. The newsletter was distributed to the college community to share news, events, and announcements.
Salve Student Unrest Papers, 1969-1973
Between 1969 and 1973, students at Salve Regina College petitioned and agitated for greater control of their rights and self-governance on campus. A major goal of their activism was changing the College's parietal rights so that students in individual dormitories could collectively create and enforce their own rules rather than the College. The students also expressed contemporary concerns related to the Vietnam War and Kent State shootings. This collection includes correspondence, memoranda, notes, meeting minutes, and other materials created by students and student organizations as well as faculty and administrators.
Guide to the Salve Student Unrest Papers (finding aid)
Digital Special Collections
Goelet Family Papers (digital)
Financial records and correspondence of Ogden Goelet and his family members, including his brother and his son, both named Robert. Much of the material relates to the family's real estate holdings in New York City and Ogden's Newport residence, Ochre Court.
Guide to the Goelet Family Papers (finding aid)
Guide to the Goelet Furnishings Collection (finding aid)Johannes von Gumppenberg Collection (digital)
Artistic explorations, illustrations, paintings, and graphic design by German-American artist Johannes von Gumppenberg.
Johannes von Gumppenberg Books (digital)Monumenta Collections (digital)
Articles, photographs, exhibit labels, an interview transcript, and other records documenting Monumenta, the major outdoor modern art exhibition in Newport in 1974.
Guide to the Monumenta Collection (finding aid)
Guide to the Crimmins Papers and Photos on Monumenta (finding aid)
Newport Ephemera Collection
A variety of short publications, brochures, souvenirs, clippings, and other materials on the social history of Newport.
Noreen Stoner Drexel Collection
Materials created by and about Noreen Stonor Drexel, as well as gathered by her in her social and philanthropic life.
Guide to the Noreen Stoner Drexel Collection (finding aid)Patrick Murphy Collection on St. Augustin's Church and School
Research files and materials compiled by Patrick Murphy about St. Augustin's Church and St. Augustin's School in Newport, including publications and programs, photographs of students and school activities, operational documents, and an extensive, indexed range of newspaper clipping copies referencing the church and school.
Guide to the Patrick Murphy Collection on St. Augustin's Church and School (finding aid)South Kingstown Colonial Records
Volumes of records from the Town Clerk’s Office in South Kingstown, Rhode Island, dating back to the late 17th century and chronicling the social relations and material culture of the early American town, including probate records that reference enslaved people who were assigned value and treated as property. In 2018, Salve Regina University Archives and Special Collections began the Documenting Slavery Project to digitize, describe, and publish these town records, which serve as evidence of how slavery was conceived of, recorded, and carried out in colonial Rhode Island. This collection is maintained by Salve Regina University and their description was made possible with support from the Rhode Island Foundation. These materials contain offensive and harmful racial terms and content.
Winslow Family Papers
Donated in 2009 by Newport resident John G. Winslow, a majority of the papers are correspondence between Winslow's ancestor Henry Brevoort, Jr. and his children in the 1830s, who were attending an experimental school in Switzerland. The collection includes many other notable pieces, including documents signed by Alexander Hamilton, painter Rembrandt Peale, author James Fenimore Cooper, and Charles Carroll of Carrolton, last surviving signer of the Declaration of Independence.
Guide to the Winslow Family Papers (finding aid)
Find More
University Archivist
Liza Tietjen
she/they
Contact:
Hours (by appointment):
Monday - Friday
9:00am - 4:00pm
Salve Regina University
100 Ochre Point Avenue
Newport, RI 02840
McKillop Library
Archives: Rm 023
Office: Rm 204
archives@salve.edu
Monday - Friday
9:00am - 4:00pm
Salve Regina University
100 Ochre Point Avenue
Newport, RI 02840
McKillop Library
Archives: Rm 023
Office: Rm 204
archives@salve.edu
(401) 341-2276