Welcome
Welcome! This guide can help you with research in your subject area.
To get to the library's homepage click the logo to the left, and if you have more questions check out McKillop Library's FAQs, ask a librarian, or make an appointment to meet with a librarian.
Search for books and articles
Criminal Justice and Multi-Disciplinary Databases for Articles
- EBSCOhost This link opens in a new windowA collection of full-text and abstract databases in the humanities, nursing, business, and life sciences.
- Hein Online This link opens in a new windowIncludes law journals, legal research materials, Supreme Court documents, US government and congressional documents, treaties, presidential papers, constitutions, US code, and federal regulations. Additional collections include the Pentagon Papers, Slavery in America, and Foreign Relations of the US.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowAn archive of full-text academic journals and ebooks from the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Now also includes the image database ArtStor. Journals in JSTOR have an embargo, which means that most journals do not include the most recent approximately 3 to 5 years of issues.
- Proquest Criminal Justice Database This link opens in a new windowProvides around 400 periodicals related to criminal justice.
- Proquest One Academic This link opens in a new window
Search all Proquest content at one time. Includes Academic Video Online, Proquest Central, Proquest Dissertations & Theses Global, and Proquest Ebook Central.
- Sage Discipline Hub: Criminology & Criminal Justice This link opens in a new windowCriminology and criminal justice journals from Sage.
Finding Articles in Law Review Journals
Law review articles analyze topics in law. Harvard University offers an excellent description of law review articles and their usefulness.
Salve offers law review articles in HeinOnline, EBSCOhost, Nexis Uni, and JSTOR. See below for more information on how to find law review articles in each database:
HeinOnline: click on "Law Journal Library" and enter your search terms in the search box.
EBSCO from the article search on the library's homepage.
Enter your search words in the search box, then, if you get a good number of results, enter "law" in the box under your search words, and change the drop down to "SO source". This isn't foolproof -- you may miss some journals which don't have "law" in the title or get some sources that aren't law journals, but it's a good way to search for law journals across a lot of EBSCO databases.
Nexis Uni: Click on "Law Reviews" on the homepage and enter your search terms.
JSTOR: Type your search words in the search box, then limit by subject "Law". See the video below for a quick tutorial.
Internet Resources in Criminal Justice and Criminology
- Bureau of Justice StatisticsA great source of crime statistics. It is BJS' mission to collect, analyze, publish, and disseminate information on crime, criminal offenders, victims of crime, and the operation of justice systems at all levels of government.
- Center for American & International LawThe Center for American and International Law is a nonprofit institution dedicated to the continuing education of lawyers and law enforcement officials in the United States and throughout the world.
- Congress*GovProvides federal legislative information. You can find information on bills, resolutions, public laws, the Congressional Record, committee information, presidential nominations and treaties.
- Crime in the United StatesAn annual publication in which the FBI compiles the volume and rate of violent and property crime offenses for the nation and by state. Individual law enforcement agency data are also provided for those contributors supplying 12 months complete offense data. This report also includes arrest, clearance, and law enforcement employee data. Use the new online UCR Data Tool to research crime statistics for the nation, by state, and by individual law enforcement agency.
- Find LawFreely available site that allows you to find an attorney or research areas of the law by topic.
- Introduction to Basic Legal CitationThis is a free guide to legal citation. For official citation rules you should refer to the The Bluebook: A Uniform Sytem of Citation. However, for quick citation checks this guide works fine.
- Legal Information Institute at Cornell University Law SchoolGreat web site that allows you to find case law, statutes and regulations as well as much more. Also includes state law, a legal encyclopedia, the Table of Popular Names, and uniform laws including the complete UCC.
- Martindale Hubbell Law DirectoryFirst published in 1868, this directory contains profiles for over one million lawyers and law firms in the United States, Canada and 160 other countries, serving as a fundamental legal resource. There is also a link to information on accredited U.S. law schools.
- National Archive of Criminal Justice DataThe National Archive of Criminal Justice Data (NACJD) preserves and distributes computerized crime and justice data from Federal agencies, state agencies, and investigator initiated research projects to users for secondary statistical analysis.
- National Criminal Justice Reference ServiceNCJRS is a federally funded resource offering justice and substance abuse information to support research, policy, and program development worldwide.
- Office of Juvenile Justice and Delinquency Prevention (OJJDP)A government web site devoted to juveniles in crisis—from serious, violent, and chronic offenders to victims of abuse and neglect. OJJDP collaborates with professionals from diverse disciplines to improve juvenile justice policies and practices. OJJDP promotes efforts to develop and implement effective programs for juveniles. Through its components, OJJDP sponsors research, program, and training initiatives; develops priorities and goals and sets policies to guide federal juvenile justice issues; and disseminates information about juvenile justice issues.
- SEARCHSEARCH prepares and publishes national research, analytical and survey reports and bulletins on a range of timely issues in criminal justice information management, technology, and law and policy.
- State of Rhode Island General AssemblyWeb site of the Rhode Island General Assembly where you can find legislative information for Rhode island such as Public Laws, Bills, Committee Agendas, Commission Agendas, Budget Information, Reports, and Lists of Representatives and Senators.
- United States Department of JusticeTakes you to the U.S. Department of Justice list of agencies. From this page you can access the home pages of over 50 agencies under the DOJ umbrella. Great sources of information in many legal areas such as juvenile justice, civil rights, and drug enforcement.
Ask-A-Librarian
Need research assistance?
Click to Meet with a Librarian
Contact the library:
Call us at 401-341-2289
Email us at salvelibrarian@salve.edu
Chat with us from any library web page
Visit us at the information desk
Find us in the staff directory