Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Open Educational Resources (OER)
Community College Consortium for Open Educational Resources (CCCOER)
CCCOER is a growing consortium of community and technical colleges committed to expanding access to education and increasing student success through adoption of open educational policy, practices, and resources. You can use CCCOER to locate full courses, textbooks, or any instructional material including images, videos, or documents associated with teaching and learning.
Creative Commons helps you legally share your knowledge and creativity to build a more equitable, accessible, and innovative world. With over 120 major content partners, OER Commons provides a single point of access for over 30,000 items!
HippoCampus.org is a free, core academic web site that delivers rich multimedia content--videos, animations, and simulations--on general education subjects to middle-school and high-school teachers and college professors, and their students, free of charge. Teachers project HippoCampus content during classroom learning and assign it for computer labs and homework.
Illinois Open Education Resources (IOER)
IOER provides open, standards-aligned educational and career content. Use the tools to find, share, curate, and create resources. Users can like, rate, comment on and follow resources. IOER offers easy‐to‐use, no‐cost, immediate online access to education and career resources and tools for individuals, schools, and organizations.
Internet Archive Library of Open Educational Resources
The Internet Archive’s library of Open Educational Resources and university lectures contains hundreds of free courses, video lectures, and supplemental materials from universities in the United States and China. Materials within the Open Educational Resources Archive are licensed according to each author's wishes. See specific collections or
items for licensing information.
Individual students and professors can use the OER on Lumen Learning’s site for free. As EdSurge notes, schools that want to integrate the course material into their learning management systems or need support for faculty can pay a fee based on enrollment numbers. Students and teachers are also able to improve existing OER content, and then share their revised work with others.
MERLOT is a curated collection of free and open online teaching, learning, and faculty development services contributed and used by the international education community. The MERLOT collection consists of tens of thousands of discipline-specific learning materials, learning exercises, and Content Builder web pages, together with associated comments, and bookmark collections, all intended to enhance the teaching experience of using a learning material. All of these items have been contributed by the MERLOT member community, who have either authored the materials themselves, or who have discovered the materials, found them useful, and wished to share their enthusiasm for the materials with others in the teaching and learning community. All the materials in MERLOT are reviewed for suitability for retention in the collection.
Open Course Library Project
Funded by the Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation and the Washington State Legislature the Open Course Library is a collection of high quality, free-to-use courses that you can download and use for teaching. All content is stored in Google docs making it easy to access, browse and download.
The Orange Grove repository is Florida's digital repository for instructional resources. The repository provides an environment for educators to search for, use, remix, share, and contribute educational resources. The repository can also be integrated with Learning Management Systems (Canvas). Discover and import repository resources directly to Canvas.
The Saylor Academy is a 501(c)(3) nonprofit organization working since 2008 to offer free and open online courses to all who want to learn. Provides guidance to those interested in building or reusing online courseware. You can search materials, browse textbook shelves or compiled lists of OER materials by subject.
The Teaching Commons showcases high-quality open educational resources from leading colleges and universities and makes them available to educators and students around the world. Curated by librarians and their institutions and hosted by bepress, the Teaching Commons includes open-access textbooks, course materials, lesson plans, multimedia, lectures, k-12 materials, and more. Educators and researchers can use the Teaching Commons to discover teaching materials, adopt content for their courses, or create and share their own work.
Tools for creating and using OERs
Perusall - a collaborative e-book reading tool -- overview presentation by creator Gary King
panOpen - a learning platform that "includes full courses, textbooks, video, tests, software and syllabuses. The panOpen platform lets faculty curate and customize peer-reviewed content for free, while students pay [a per course fee] to access the materials." (from EdCrunch)
hypothes.is - an interactive web annotation tool. Hypothes.is describes itself as "a conversation layer over the entire web that works everywhere, without needing implementation by any underlying site…Using annotation, we enable sentence-level note taking or critique on top of news, blogs, scientific articles, books, terms of service, ballot initiatives, legislation and more."