Searching for Journals
The library subscribes to a large number of magazines, journals, and newspapers in electronic format, as well as maintaining a print collection of periodicals. All of these items can be searched by using the Journals link on the library homepage.
If the library subscribes to the journal that you searched for, a listing will appear which shows the years of coverage and available sources of the full-text of this journal. For online electronic journals, the name(s) of the research database(s) which includes the full-text of this journal will be listed. More than one database might be listed if the library has access to this journal in more than one online source, although the dates of coverage of each separate database may vary. If the library subscribes to this journal in print, the years of print availability will also be listed.
If you click on the link for Journal of Nursing Scholarship, you will get a listing of all the available online issues of this journal, which you can then browse to find the issue or specific article you want. If you are off-campus, you will be asked to enter your login information before you are allowed to access any electronic journal.
Advanced Searching Techniques: Boolean Operators
Using Google Scholar for Articles
Google Scholar as a Tool for Journal Articles
Google Scholar crawls academic journal websites and provides an index of selected scholarly articles.
Tip: Be sure to set up your "Library Links" to Salve Regina so that if you locate a citation and the full-text is available from one of the library's subscription databases, you can link directly from the Google Scholar search page.
Tip: If it's not available full-text, you'll be directed to request the article through Salve's interlibrary loan service.
Tip: Much of your research in Nursing will call for the use of recently published articles. At times, you'll find a useful source but it is older than what you are typically able to cite in your research. Look at the citation in Google Scholar and click on “Cited by.” This tool allows you to move forward in time from the older source to see who has cited it in more recent publications. Of course, you will also need to evaluate those newer studies for relevance and quality!
For more tips and tricks on using Google Scholar, use this link: https://scholar.google.com/intl/en/scholar/help.html
Searching for Dissertations
To find dissertations written by Salve Regina students, do a keyword search in the library catalog for Salve Regina University thesis. Copies of dissertations located in the Salve Main Collection can be found by their call number on the second and third floor of the library.
Some Salve dissertations are also available online in our digital repository Digital Commons. Additional copies of Salve dissertations are also kept in Special Collections, which is located in the garden level of McKillop Library and requires an appointment for access.
There are several sources for finding dissertations written by students at other schools. If you are looking for a particular dissertation by title or author, you can search by title or author in the library catalog to see if a copy is available at McKillop Library. If not, try a search in Google to see if the dissertation is available in full-text online. If not, you can use interlibrary loan to request it.
If you are searching for dissertations by topic, these are other sources to search:
-
Dissertations and Theses A & I from Proquest (The majority of dissertations located through this research database will need to be requested by interlibrary loan, but please check availability in the library catalog and Google first.)