Getting started with research
For research articles, explore the databases in this research guide. Research librarians are available to assist in person or through the library's online chat service. Access the chat service through the "Ask a Librarian" portal on this page.
Additional resources and strategies for getting started with your research are described through the following guides created by librarians.
- Explore the research guide that provides an overview of the university's Archives and Special Collections, along with a wealth of related resources.
- For an overview of the architectural heritage of the university's properties, peruse the research guide Architecture & Heritage: Salve's Seven Estates.
- Learn how to become a better researcher through the methods and resources described in the following guide, HIS 270: The Historian's Craft.
- UNV-101: Dive into Newport: A research guide focused purely on the City of Newport and its history.
Databases
- African American Newspapers This link opens in a new windowA collection of historical newspapers exploring African American history, culture and daily life from 1887-1998.
- America's Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new windowOffers over 700 historical American newspapers, mainly from the 18th and early 19th centuries. Includes coverage of the Newport Gazette, 1777; Newport Herald, 1787-1791; and Newport Mercury 1758-1866.
- America: History & Life with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Provides journal articles on the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. 1955-present.
- Ancestry Library This link opens in a new windowLarge collection of genealogy records, including census data, vital records, directories, photos, and more.
- Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals This link opens in a new window
Indexes architectural journals and magazines.
- Historical Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Indexing and full-text from history journals, book chapters, dissertations. Covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 forward.
- Historical New York Times This link opens in a new windowNew York Times from 1851 to 2018. For recent issues, use New York Times Digital Edition or Nexis Uni.
- History Reference Source This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text of reference books, encyclopedias, history periodicals, historical documents, biographies of historical figures, historical photos and maps, and historical video.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowAn archive of full-text academic journals and ebooks from the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Now also includes the image database ArtStor. Journals in JSTOR have an embargo, which means that most journals do not include the most recent approximately 3 to 5 years of issues.
- OmniFile FullText Mega This link opens in a new window
Multi-disciplinary database providing select full text articles, abstracts, and indexing.
- Proquest Newspapers This link opens in a new window
A collection of American and international newspapers.
- Sanborn Maps - 1867-1970 This link opens in a new window
Provides large-scale maps of towns and cities in Rhode Island.
- Slavery in America and the World: History, Culture & Law This link opens in a new windowAll known law related materials on slavery in the United States and the English-speaking world. This includes every statute passed by every colony and state on slavery, every federal statute dealing with slavery, and all reported state and federal cases on slavery.
Articles
An article, accessed through the Historical New York Times Access database, details the effects of war on Newport in 1914.
Articles
- Brilliant but Stormy Collaborations: Masterworks of the American Renaissance by John La Farge, Charles Follen McKim, and Stanford WhiteDr. James L. Yarnall, taught art and architectural history at Salve Regina University and is a leading authority on La Farge.
- A Beaux Arts Transformation: A case study of the history and preservation of the Ochre Point District in Newport, Rhode IslandAuthored by John R. Tschirch, architectural historian, of the Preservation Society of Newport County.
- Five Best: Anne de' Courcy on Books About Society in the Gilded AgeAuthor Anne de' Courcy recommends her top five books that explore life in the Gilded Age, including Maud Howe Elliott's book "This was my Newport."
- La Farge at University's ChapelThe Our Lady of Mercy Chapel, consecrated in 2010, features 13 leaded opalescent glass windows created by John La Farge. The windows were created in 1890-91 for a private chapel in Newport.
- Architecture shows of Richard Morris HuntA review of two exhibits in New York City showcasing Hunt's architecture discuss the architect's style and influence on the mansions, including Ochre Court, of Newport.
- The Peabody Touch: Peabody and Stearns of Boston, 1870-1917.Describes the lives and careers of these influential architects, and states that they were "the most important arbiters of building taste after H. H. Richardson."
Encyclopedias and Dictionaries
- Gale Ebooks This link opens in a new windowA collection of over 100 online reference books, including specialized encyclopedias in many topic areas.
- History Reference Source This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text of reference books, encyclopedias, history periodicals, historical documents, biographies of historical figures, historical photos and maps, and historical video.