Dive into Newport History

Catalog Search - Try It Yourself

When you look at an item in the library catalog, before the call number you will see a "location code" that indicates which library in our consortium owns the item and its call number (a string of letters and numbers). For example, you may see Salve CRC Media - Z40 .D82 2003. Items in the library are arranged by call number, but also by collection to facilitate browsing and practical storage. The following are the locations in McKillop Library:

• Blumen Holocaust. Focused on the history of "man's inhumanity to man," the Blumen collection holds materials on the Holocaust, genocide, and human rights. These materials do circulate and are located on the third floor of the library, at the end of the non-moving range of shelves in the north wing.
• Browsing Area. New, popular fiction and nonfiction reside on the first floor, east wing of the library, to the right of the printer alcove.
• CRC/Curriculum Library. The Janet L. Robinson Curriculum Resource Center is on the second floor of the library. This collection houses materials in a range of media related to teaching.
• Main Collection. Most of the materials in the library are in the main collection, located on the third floor.
• Reference. On the first floor, north wing of the library (take a right when facing the circulatuion desk), you will find a variety of materials for quick reference -- items like dictionaries, encyclopedia, and citation guides -- which do not circulate.
• Special Collections. Rare and unique books and other materials in Special Collections are accessible by appointment with the University Archivist and Special Collections Librarian. Students, staff, faculty, and the public are all welcome to set up an appointment by e-mailing archives@salve.edu or calling (401) 341-2276. The following location codes are also Special Collections materials which do not circulate: Auchincloss Collection, Pastore Collection, Newport Collection, and Whitaker Collection. 
• Videos. Salve's extensive collection of video is on the first floor, east wing of the library (take a left when facing the circulation desk).

If you ever need help locating an item, ask a librarian!

• Library of Congress Authorities - Use this resource to look up authorized subject headings for resources. Subject headings are standardized metadata which group like materials and make catalog searching easier.