Reference Resources for Music
-
Harvard Dictionary of Music
by
Call Number: McKillop Library Reference ML100 .A64 2003ISBN: 9780674011632Publication Date: 2003-11-28This classic reference work, the best one-volume music dictionary available, has been brought completely up to date in this new edition. Combining authoritative scholarship and lucid, lively prose, the Fourth Edition of The Harvard Dictionary of Music is the essential guide for musicians, students, and everyone who appreciates music. The Harvard Dictionary of Music has long been admired for its wide range as well as its reliability. This treasure trove includes entries on all the styles and forms in Western music; comprehensive articles on the music of Africa, Asia, Latin America, and the Near East; descriptions of instruments enriched by historical background; and articles that reflect today's beat, including popular music, jazz, and rock. Throughout this Fourth Edition, existing articles have been fine-tuned and new entries added so that the dictionary fully reflects current music scholarship and recent developments in musical culture. Encyclopedia-length articles by notable experts alternate with short entries for quick reference, including definitions and identifications of works and instruments. More than 220 drawings and 250 musical examples enhance the text. This is an invaluable book that no music lover can afford to be without. -
The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians
by
Call Number: Main Collection ML100 .N48 2001 vol.1-29ISBN: 9781561592395Publication Date: 2003-02-11Since its initial publication in 1980, the Dictionary has been widely acclaimed as an indispensable resource and a classic reference. The word "updated" doesn't begin to describe the thousands of new articles, topics, cross-references, and areas of scholarship incorporated into The New Grove II. Every one of the first edition's 22,500 articles has been reviewed and revised, with thousands of articles expanded. Previously neglected or under-represented areas have been examined, explored, and explained. Movements and topics once deemed too controversial or too far from the mainstream have been added. And throughout, 6,500 new articles cover more than 5,000 years of music history, instruments, composers, institutions, performers, genres, and more. The New Grove II takes you beyond the customary and familiar into new worlds with extensive, authoritative contributions on non-Western music. From major influences, such as Latin American music, to less-examined contributions, such as Asian, sub-Saharan African, and Pacific Islander, The New Grove II presents the music, theory, instruments, and musicians that have helped to define music around the world.
Library of Congress Subject Headings to Find Books about Music
In the Library of Congress Classification System, the letter "M" represents the class for Music. Three "sub classes" fall under Music:
M: Music
ML: Literature on Music
MT: Music Instruction and Study
The headings below can help you locate both print and eBooks in McKillop Library's catalog. When using subject headings, you need to use the su: (subject) limiter, instead of the default, kw: (keyword) limiter. This limiter is positioned in front of the chosen subject heading. Give it a try!
Exploring and Analyzing Music:
Music criticism and reviews
Music—History and criticism
Music trade
Musical analysis
Theory of music & musicology
Music Genres:
Country music
Electronic music—History and criticism
Folk music—United States—History and criticism
Gospel music—20th century—History and criticism
Popular music—Analysis, appreciation
Popular music—History and criticism
Popular music—Social aspects—History
Popular music—20th century—History and criticism
Popular music—United States—History and criticism
Popular music—United States—21st century—History and criticism
Popular music—Writing and publishing
Popular music—Vocational guidance
Rap (Music)—History and criticism
Rock music—History and criticism
Rock music—1961-1970—History and criticism
Rock music—1981-1990—History and criticism
Rhythm and blues music—History and criticism
Exploring Social or Political Aspects of Music:
African Americans—Music—History and criticism
Gender identity in music
Music and race—United States—History—20th century
Music—Great Britain—19th century—History and criticism
Music—Social aspects
Music—Political aspects—United States
Find Print Books and E-Books in the Library Catalog
Explore Music via Streaming Platforms
-
Naxos Music Library This link opens in a new windowA collection of classical music available online. This database is limited to 10 simultaneous users at one time. Please log off after using this database. Faculty who wish to create playlists for classes should contact the library at 401-341-2289 to obtain the login information needed.
-
Classical Music Video (AVON)Videos from Alexander Street Press focusing on classical music artists.
-
Music and Performing Arts Channel (AVON)Explore more than 3,000 videos through the Academic Video Online database, available through McKillop Library's subscription.
Search for Articles from Journals, Magazines, and Newspapers
-
JSTOR This link opens in a new windowAn archive of full-text academic journals and ebooks from the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Now also includes the image database ArtStor. Journals in JSTOR have an embargo, which means that most journals do not include the most recent approximately 3 to 5 years of issues.
-
Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retro This link opens in a new window
Indexes humanities and social science journal articles and book chapters.
-
Humanities Full Text This link opens in a new window
Covers scholarly sources in the humanities. 1984 to the present.
-
International Bibliography of Theater and Dance This link opens in a new window
Indexes journal articles, books, book chapters, and dissertations on all aspects of theatre and the performing arts.
-
New York Times Digital Edition This link opens in a new windowAccess requires creating an individual account. Register for an individual account with your Salve email address and any password that you choose. Once registered, users can login to the New York Times website and access digital content both on and off campus, including the NYT app. For those with an existing personal subscription that uses their Salve email in the login, please first cancel your personal subscription, in order to make a new subscription possible under that email. Users who get an error message of "access unavailable" when trying to register should first cancel any personal NYT account (if applicable), then use an incognito/private browser window to register, or clear their browser's cookies before registering, or use a different browser to register. Any user who has problems creating an account should try using an incognito/private browser window to sign up. Content is from 1851 to present, but for articles from 1923-1980, users are limited to view and/or download 5 PDFs per 24-hour period. See also the database Historical New York Times for unlimited access to articles from 1851 to 2018. Does not include e-reader editions, Cooking, Wirecutter, the Athletic, Premium Crosswords, Times Insider, or NYT Crossword app. NYT app is not supported on all devices. Once a year, users will be asked to re-verify their account by going to the registration link and re-activating their access.
Search Tips
Whether you are searching on the library website or Google, most searches default to Keyword searches.
A Keyword search looks for words anywhere in the title, summary, content, or metadata of an item. Keyword searches are a good substitute for a subject search when you do not know the standard subject heading. Keyword may also be used as a substitute for a title or author search when you have incomplete title or author information.
- Use this type of search technique when you are getting a feel for your topic and you are finding general information on a topic or subject.
- For example: a keyword search for "Thomas Jefferson" will give you results for items about and written by him. If you want to find items written by Thomas Jefferson use an author search and enter "Jefferson, Thomas."
- As you search for information on your topic you will develop your own vocabulary and terms related your topic. Keeping track of searches that worked well or create lists of synonyms of your keywords to improve your searching.
This search looks for the name of the author, editor, creator, or translator of an item.
- Use this search when you know the name of the author, editor, creator, or translator of a item.
- Tip: search last name, first name, for example "Jefferson, Thomas." If you don't find the author you are looking for, try a keyword search instead. Be mindful of aliases for example: Mark Twain and Samuel Clemens are the same person. Similarly with Christopher Wallace, better known as the Notorious B.I.G., Biggie Smalls, or Biggie.
- Tip: States, institutions or museums can be listed as authors. Try searching a state, institution, or museums to see what they have published. For example: Rhode Island, Harvard University, American National Red Cross, or Boston Museum of Fine Art.
- If you want to find items written by Thomas Jefferson use an author search and enter "Jefferson, Thomas." If you enter a name as a subject, the items you see in the search results will be about them, not necessarily written by them. A keyword search will return anything containing the name "Thomas Jefferson".
This search looks for the exact words you entered as the title of an item. If you don't know the exact title, try using a Keyword Search instead.
- Use this when you know the exact title of a book, exhibition catalog, or journal.
A subject search is more specific than a keyword search. Subject headings are a predetermined list of possible terms, which reflect the content of the item. Most academic libraries use Library of Congress Subject Headings. Subject headings are not always intuitive.
- Use this type of search when you want to find information which reflects the about-ness of a topic.
- If you want to find items written by Thomas Jefferson use an author search and enter "Jefferson, Thomas." If you enter a name as a subject, the items you see in the search results will be about them, not necessarily written by them. A keyword search will return anything containing the name "Thomas Jefferson".
*Subject searching is found on advanced search page