Campus Preservation of Salve Regina University
Salve Regina's 80-acre campus bordering the famed Cliff Walk exemplifies significant developments in the architectural, historical and cultural heritage of 19th- and early 20th-century America. The university continues to act as a steward of this heritage and is actively engaged in preserving the splendor of its Gilded Age properties, while also adapting them for educational use.
Campus Heritage Preservation Plan
In 2002, Salve Regina became the first New England institution to receive a Getty Grant Program award to develop a campus heritage preservation plan.
A comprehensive "living" system, the preservation plan supports Salve Regina's continuing efforts to identify, assess, and plan for the preservation and adaptive reuse of the university's historically significant campus buildings and landscapes.
The preservation plan includes a detailed review of 21 historically significant buildings representing seven contiguous 19th-century estates that distinguish Salve Regina's historic campus. Also included are full existing conditions reports, restorative plans and, where appropriate, comprehensive recommendations and plans for adaptive reuse.
The preservation plan provides further structure and resources for the university's practice of utilizing its campus as an academic "living laboratory." It has also been integrated as an important component of Salve Regina's academic program in cultural and historic preservation, affording students countless opportunities for independent study.
Source: Campus preservation of Salve Regina University
Ochre Court at night
Ochre Court, pictured at night, serves as the university's central administration building. (Photo by Kindra Clineff)
Ochre Court, Salve Regina's central administration building, was commissioned by New York real estate magnate Ogden Goelet as his family's summer residence, Ochre Court (1888-1892) was designed by Richard Morris Hunt, America's foremost architect of the late 19th century.
For the mansion's exterior, Hunt drew his inspiration from the late medieval period in French architecture, installing high roofs, turrets, whimsical gargoyles and tall chimneys. Inside, he used details from French Gothic chateaux and churches to create a soaring great hall, impressive ground floor reception rooms and private upstairs family rooms designed with imported antique fireplaces and lavish wall coverings.
Source: Campus buildings of Salve Regina University
Visit the university's website to discover more details about the campus buildings of Salve Regina.
Local and university history resources
- Archives & Special Collections - Newport MapsExplore historic digitized maps that Include six plates of the City of Newport published by Everts and Richards Co., Philadelphia, PA, in 1895 and one aerial photograph from circa 1954.
- Journal of the Newport Historical SocietyThe Newport Historical Society was chartered in 1854 to collect and preserve books, manuscripts, and objects pertaining to Newport's history.
- Local history and historic preservation resourcesLinks to historic preservation societies and resources, along with City of Newport documents and inventories.
- Maps of Ochre Point-Cliffs Historic DistrictContains maps and images of buildings located within the Ochre Point - Cliffs Historic District. Authored by the National Park Service.
- NewportalNewportal is the combined digital catalog of the Newport Art Museum, Newport Historical Society, Newport Restoration Foundation, Preservation Society of Newport County, and Redwood Library & Athenaeum.
- Newport CemeteriesExplore the graves of Newport's cemeteries through the Rhode Island Historical Society's databases.
- Newport Ephemera CollectionThis collection, housed in the university's Special Collections, contains a variety of short publications, brochures, souvenirs, clippings, and other materials on the social history of Newport. Materials in the public domain (primarily orphan works and documents published before 1922) are digitized here.
- Newport Historical SocietyThe mission of the Newport Historical Society is multi-faceted. It retains and preserves significant collections of artifacts, documents and properties. It supports, generates and collates scholarship on the history of Newport County and its place in American history. And, it develops and delivers a variety of educational programs — exhibits, tours, conferences, publications and other formats — to transmit information and open dialogs with the public about history.
- Newport Map ProjectThis exhibition contains images and commentary on a group of maps that highlight key moments in Newport’s urban development, and is the result of collaboration between the Preservation Society of Newport County, Redwood Library and Athenaeum, and Salve Regina.
- Newport Postcard CollectionThis collection contains images of 19th and 20th century postcards showing scenes from Newport, Rhode Island, including Gilded Age mansions, and neighboring towns. These images were provided by Daniel P. Titus from his personal collection.
- Maps of Ochre Point-Cliffs Historic DistrictContains maps and images of buildings located within the Ochre Point - Cliffs Historic District. Authored by the National Park Service.
- Rhode Island Archival and Manuscript Collections OnlineProvides historical and architectural background on Salve Regina University's properties.
Property Photographs
Salve’s first buildings were part of the following Newport estates: Althorpe, Chateau-sur-Mer, Fairlawn, Ochre Court, Vinland, Wakehurst, and the William Watts Sherman House. In some cases, the names of these buildings have been changed to better reflect Salve’s heritage. Browse the collection of the university's property and architecture. Use the "search within" feature to narrow the results for a specific property, e.g. Wakehurst or Vinland.
McKillop Library Archives
The Archives in McKillop Library contain a number of materials based on or associated with Salve properties including but not limited to receipts, letters, and photographs. If you are interested in viewing any of these materials, please contact Archivist Genna Duplisea at archives@salve.edu (preferred) or 401-341-2276.
You can browse the digital repository of the university's Archives and Special Collections at Digital Commons @ Salve Regina.
Explore the research guide that provides an overview of the university's Archives and Special Collections, along with a wealth of related resources.