Skip to main content

**Research from Start to Finish**: Finding Books

Easy to follow guide with steps on how to do research. Finding and researching a topic, using library materials, search strategies, evaluating information and more.

How to Search & Navigate the Catalog

How do I find books in the catalog?

McKillop Library has an online library catalog that allows you to find books, ebooks, videos and articles all in one search box. Books available at other libraries will also be shown in the results list; books from other libraries can be requested for free through either the HELIN system or  interlibrary loan and will arrive in approximately 2-3 business days (interlibrary loan requests may take longer).

1. point Go to http://library.salve.edu

2. In the search box, enter your keyword(s), title or author:



3. Browse the search results for items you would like to borrow; use the filters on the left sidebar to refine results by format type, location, etc. (optional). Click the title for additional information. If the book is Available at Salve you can go to the shelves to retrieve it using the call number (see the guide "Finding Items on the Shelves" or ask a librarian for assistance).

Note that books with the location of Salve Reference, Salve Pastore Collection, Salve CurrLib Reference, Salve Special Collections or Salve Newport Collection are for library use only and cannot be checked out


If the book is located at another library, you can request that it be delivered to McKillop Library library free of charge using the "Request" button, which will either place a hold on the item for you. You will be notified via Salve email when it is ready for pick-up. See "How to Request Items from Other Libraries" below for more information on requesting items from other libraries.


The catalog contains extra features worth mentioning - you can send an item to yourself via email, copy the citation for use in a research paper, read the description of the item and/or find similar formats, among other features.

How to Request Items from Other Libraries

You can request items from local HELIN libraries by using the "Request from HELIN" button. Or use the "Request thru Interlibrary Loan" button to request the book from libraries outside of the HELIN consortium.

For more information, visit our ILL webpage.

   

How to Find eBooks

Use Worldcat Discovery to find materials in various formats, such as ebooks.

To access ebooks from off-campus, you will be prompted to enter your Salve username (firstname.lastname) and your password (same as your Salve email).

*Note that due to copyright restrictions, ebooks cannot be requested via HELIN or Interlibrary Loan; you can only access ebooks that Salve Regina has access to. You can request a print version of the book from another library if desired.

Next Step...

Now that you can find articles on your topic, let's head over to the databases and learn how to search for articles!

back next

Floor Plans & Maps



Archives - Garden Level 023 / 3rd FL 305
Blumen Collection - 3rd FL
Browsing Collection - 1st FL
Curriculum Resources & L's - 2nd FL
DVDs/Videos - 1st FL
Main Collection A-Z - 3rd FL
Microfilm - 2nd FL
Newspapers/Periodicals [print] - 1st FL
Oversized Main Collection - 3rd FL
Oversized Reference - 1st FL
Reference - 1st FL
Reserves - 1st FL Circulation Desk
Whitaker Collection - Archives

Ask a Librarian

Need research assistance?
Click to Meet with a Librarian

Contact the library:
Call us at 401-341-2289
Email us at salvelibrarian@salve.edu
Chat with us from any library web page
Text us at 401-324-9542
Visit us at the information desk