These are some popular article sources:
It is important to map out how you will go about searching for research materials on your topic prior to beginning your search. Here is an example of a search strategy worksheet [PDF] that you may find helpful as you read through this page.
Steps for Creating a Search Strategy
1. Summarize your topic
2. Identify main concepts (keywords)
3. Identify synonyms, alternate words and/or related words
4. Try different combinations of keywords
Example: How does exposure to smokers affect children who have asthma?
What are the main concepts or keywords?
.....smoking, children, asthma
Think of synonyms, alternate words or/and related words.
.....secondhand smoke, smokers..... toddler, pediatric, child .... allergies, breathing problems
Develop your search strategy using the terms above.
Mix and match terms. If one keyword doesn't work, try to vary your keywords with synonyms.
Boolean operators help to narrow or broaden your search. The most useful are AND, OR, NOT which help to connect keywords or concepts.
You can use more than one Boolean connector in the same search statement:
Many databases allow use of AND, OR, NOT when searching:
Another database that provides scholarly articles is JSTOR which includes only academic journals. These databases and many others can be accessed from the Databases A-Z list
If the full article is not available in our resources, then you can use interlibrary loan to request the article.
A citation is the information which identifies a book or article. Information for a book usually includes the author, title, publisher, city of publication, and date. The citation for an article usually includes the author, title of the article, title of the journal, volume, issue, pages, and date.
To find articles, search by keyword in a relevant database.
Administration of Justice
Cultural & Historical Preservation
Sociology / Anthropology
To access databases, ebooks, or other library resources from off-campus, you will be asked to enter your Salve email username (firstname.lastname) and your password (same as Salve email password). More ...