To do a thorough search for articles on your topic, you should plan to search through multiple article databases. You can search our through our databases by disciplinary subject guide, or you can methodically go through the below databases, which are popular sources of journal articles.
If you're having trouble finding what you need, check in with a librarian to hone your search strategy and make your search go more smoothly.
EBSCOhost databases
EBSCO is our largest database provider, allowing researchers to search journals across all of the disciplines. At the opening screen, click the select all box to search comprehensively across all disciplines.
Sage Journals Online
Provides online access to the full-text of more than 460 journals in business, humanities, social sciences, science, technology, and medicine.
JSTOR
JSTOR is a collection of full-text scholarly journals, focusing on retrospective coverage.
Google Scholar
Google Scholar uses a different approach to searching your search terms than many of our databases. After you've searched our databases, you may find additional articles on your subject by searching Google Scholar. If you have a Gmail or Google account, you can even set your preferences to link to articles that Salve Regina has access to by clicking on "Library Links."
To view Salve Regina University dissertations, see Digital Commons or in hard copy on the first floor in the periodicals alcove across from the newspapers.
If you would like to search for dissertations on your topic, check Dissertations and Theses A&I. EBSCOhost also indexes dissertations. If we do not have access through our library subscriptions, you may need to make an interlibrary loan request.
The library has several collections of music and movies, both online streaming and hard copy.
To find movies, check out this page.
To find music, try:
National Jukebox: The Jukebox includes more than 10,000 recordings made by the Victor Talking Machine Company between 1901 and 1925. Jukebox content will be increased regularly, with additional Victor recordings and acoustically recorded titles made by other Sony-owned U.S. labels, including Columbia, OKeh, and others.
Naxos Music Library: The Naxos Music Library is the most comprehensive collection of classical music available online. Most recordings come with scholarly notes which have been written by respected musicologists.
An in-depth guide to searching for primary sources is available in the archives research guide.
Ephemera (including pamphlets, flyers and posters) and primary sources are likely to be found at archives with holdings related to your topic or online at museums and university institutes. Work with a librarian if you'd like some help locating potential institutional sources for these types of research materials.
The Digital Public Library of America has a wealth of primary source materials, easily searchable by keyword.
The Digital Collections of the Library of Congress have a wealth of materials organized into subject-based collections or searchable by keyword.
Institutions with large collections have begun to digitize and make their art available online. Search these collections and view high quality images by clicking on the links below:
ARTstor is the library's primary subscription database for finding high quality images of art. ARTstor has consolidated the digital collections of individual and institutional partners for easy searching.
Below are some additional, open web sources for art.
Yale digital collections (includes some collections held by ARTstor, but some additional as well): click on the link in the "Links" tab at the bottom of the page to see an enlarged version of the image.
Tate Gallery digital collections
The Library of Congress’ Digital Collections (try “architecture, landscape” tab for architecture)