No. While Google Scholar will allow you to find articles from some of McKillop Library’s subscription article databases, it does not index all of our databases. For access to all of the library’s databases, see the Databases A-Z list or the Databases by Subject list. For a list of our available journals, see the Journals list.
Why am I being asked to pay to access a full-text article?
Some of the links in Google Scholar will lead to documents in subscription databases to which McKillop Library may or may not subscribe. If the article is located in a database that we do not have access to, there may be an option in Google Scholar to purchase the article. Salve Regina University students, faculty and staff do not need to pay for access to these items. To locate books, Salve community members should first check the library catalog; requests can be made through interlibrary loan.
The availability of articles can be checked by searching for the specific article’s journal title in our A-Z Journals list. Articles that are not available through McKillop Library can also be requested through interlibrary loan.
Can I limit my Google Scholar search to a certain author or publication title?
Yes, Google Scholar’s Advanced Search page allows several limiting options such as author, publication name, and date.
What is the difference between Google Scholar and Google Book Search?
Google Scholar searches across a range of scholarly information including books, articles, and citations. Google Book Search only searches for full-text books, and provides information on where to borrow or buy the book you want.