Find Articles in Select Ebscohost Databases
Searching Databases
Searching Databases
What is a Database?
Research databases are online tools used to search for articles on your topic. Databases allow you to search for articles by keyword across a wide range of journals/newspapers/magazines at one time. Most library databases contain citations, abstracts, or full-text journal articles from thousands of magazines, journals, newspapers, historical documents, and other literary works.
Many (but not all) of the articles listed in the databases are available in full-text format. Full-text means the entire text of the article is available online. You can read, print, or email the article directly from the computer. If you find an article we do not have full-text, we can get it for you through Interlibrary Loan.
The McKillop Library subscribes to over 140 databases. Two of the most frequently used general databases are Academic Search Complete and JSTOR. These databases contain full-text articles or citations to articles from journals, magazines, and newspapers on a broad range of topics. To identify a database in your field of study go to the Databases by Subject page.
Searching a Database
Related Databases
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window A large multidisciplinary database providing articles from scholarly journals and magazines.
- Academic Video Online (AVON) This link opens in a new window Large collection of documentaries and feature films.
- Alt Health Watch This link opens in a new window Provides full-text publications about complementary and alternative approaches to health and medicine, including holistic counseling and rehabilitation counseling.
- Gale Ebooks This link opens in a new window A collection of over 100 online reference books, including specialized encyclopedias in many topic areas.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window An archive of full-text academic journals and ebooks from the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Journals in JSTOR have an embargo, which means that most journals do not include the most recent approximately 3 to 5 years of issues.
- PsycArticles This link opens in a new window Contains full-text articles from journals published by American Psychological Association and allied organizations. Coverage includes general psychology and specialized basic, applied, clinical, and theoretical research in psychology.
- PsycInfo This link opens in a new window Indexes psychology-related journal articles, book chapters, books, and technical reports.
- RefWorks This link opens in a new window New users: Click on "create account" to sign up for an individual account using your Salve email and any password. Returning users: Login to your existing account for access to your references. Refworks is a bibliographic management tool to collect, organize, and cite references in multiple citation styles. Organize and annotate your PDF files. Use your citations in Microsoft Word or Google Docs.
- Sage Journals This link opens in a new window Includes over 1,100 full-text journals with coverage of a wide range of subject areas, as well as journals published on behalf of over 500 scholarly and professional societies. 1999 to present.
- ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window Provides full-text scholarly journals in science, nursing, and medicine. 1995-present.
- Social Science Full Text This link opens in a new window Provides articles from social science journals.