Archives and Special Collections

Manuscript collections, rare books, realia, and other resources of research interest but not related to the history of Salve Regina are available through Special Collections.

You can view finding aids for processed collections in RIAMCO and browse or search collections information in ArchivesSpace.

Books in Special Collections have entries in the library catalog. Item records with the following designations are part of the Archives & Special Collections holdings and require an appointment to view: 

• Salve Special Collections
• Archives
• Pastore Collection. The Stephen R. Pastore Collection on Sinclair Lewis is a bibliophile's collection related to the life and works of the Nobel Prize-winning American author. In addition to an exhaustive collection of Lewis's books, there are articles, correspondence, scripts, recordings, and ephemera related to his work.
• Salve Auchincloss Collection. The Hugh G. Auchincloss Collection on the Middle East is held by the McKillop Library in conjunction with the Pell Center for International Relations. This collection was given to the university by Hugh G. Auchincloss, and it reflects his long-standing interest in the Middle East from the time he was a student until he retired from an active public career. The collection includes books, serials, pamphlets and ephemera.
• Salve Newport Collection. The Newport Collection is a dynamic book collection built through purchases and gifts. The focus of the collection is on materials that illuminate the history and culture of Newport, Aquidneck Island, and Jamestown, including also fiction set in Newport, movies filmed in Newport, and books written by Jamestown and Aquidneck Island authors.
• Whitaker Collection. The Whitaker Collection consists of more than 15,000 long play recordings of jazz, classical and contemporary music. After collector Russell C. Whitaker died in 1992, Mark Malkovich, the director of the Newport Music Festival and an avid record collector himself, realized the depth of the collection and helped arrange its donation to Salve Regina. Read more about the collection from this PDF article from the Providence Journal.

Some  collections highlights:

The collection of Faculty Publications consists of books written or edited by university faculty, journals where a faculty member is listed as the senior editor, sound recordings on which a faculty member is a primary performer, and moving image recordings directed by a faculty member or featuring a faculty member as a primary performer.

The Goelet Family papers contain financial records and correspondence related to Ogden Goelet and his family members. Much of the material relates to Ochre Court, which was Odgen's Newport residence, and to the family's real estate holdings in New York City. You can view the Finding Aid and the Digital Collection.

The Monumenta Collections document an enormous outdoor exhibit of modern art that was held in Newport in 1974. The show had a lasting impact on Newport's cultural and artistic scene, as evidenced in materials from the 30th anniversary celebration, Re:Monumenta. The collections include articles, photographs, exhibit labels, an interview transcript, and miscellaneous records.

The Winslow Family papers were donated in 2009 by Newport resident John G. Winslow. A significant portion of the collection consists of correspondence from the 1830s between Winslow's ancestor Henry Brevoort, Jr. and his children, who were attending an experimental school in Switzerland. The collection contains many other notable pieces, including documents signed by Alexander Hamilton, painter Rembrandt Peale, author James Fenimore Cooper, and Charles Carroll of Carrolton, last surviving signer of the Declaration of Independence. Read more about these papers in this PDF version of the Fall 2010 issue of Report from Newport, or watch a video about the collection on iTunes.