This is the "Overview" page of the "Archives and Special Collections Research Guide" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Archives and Special Collections Research Guide   Tags: history, humanities  

Last Updated: Sep 29, 2014 URL: http://salve.libguides.com/archives Print Guide RSS Updates

Overview Print Page
  Search: 
 

What are the Archives and Special Collections?

The University Archives contains records of the university.  The Special Collections contain materials that originated outside the university.

To find out more about what's in the Archives and Special Collections, visit the website.

Some materials are available online.  These include:

Other historical research resources at the library

To see more about other historical research sources at the library, please visit John Lewis's Historical Research Methods guide.

Newport info

For background information about Newport architecture, start with Yarnall, James L. Newport Through Its Architecture: A History of Styles from Postmedieval to Postmodern. Newport, RI: Salve Regina University Press, 2005.

For background information about Newport history, start with Stensrud, Rockwell. Newport: A Lively Experiment, 1639-1969. Newport, RI: Redwood Library & Athenaeum, 2006.

The McKillop Library has partnered with the Newport Historical Society to digitize Newport History, the journal of the Society. As it is digitized, each issue is available in PDF format here.

Other websites

The History Guide is a subject catalogue of recommended websites for historians, featuring over 11,000 websites.

 

@SRUArchives

 

SRUArchives on Facebook

Source

This guide is based on the Archival Research guide by Creighton Barrett at Dalhousie University.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip